Guidance on how to pronounce those tricky author names, for authors whose last name begins with "a"!

Author Pronunciations

32 last names beginning with "a"

Page 1 of 2

al-bum (as in record album)
pole
Ees-abel Ay-enday (or ä-YEN-d?)
OW(-uh)l
AB-ag-nail
ni-CO-lo ama-NEE-tee
The pen name of Grigory Chkhartishvili, pronounced CHAHAR-kesh-veely
ar-der
AH-boo JAH-ber
leave ar-nesen
All-bright
tuh-MEEM un-saw-REE
A-BR-HAMs (first syllable rhymes with May)
Aboul-Ela
or-ster
AL-da. Most pronounce the first syllable to rhyme with ball, but considering Alda's father created the name from the first two letters of his first and last name (Alphonso D'Abruzzo), arguably the first syllable should be as in the Al in Alphonso.
Chim-muh-MAHN-duh en-GOH-zee ah-DEECH-ee-(ay) The “ay” is soft, not quite a diphthong.
AIM-as
sher-mn a-lexie
To quote the author, his name is pronounced "just like the nut"
Rah-be-a Ahl-ah-meh-dean
Gil is short for Gillian, thus pronounced Jill
u-em ak-pan
Halse rhymes with waltz
ah-vee
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
The phonetic pronunciation of each author's name has been verified by the author's publisher. If you are the author, or personally familiar with the author, and disagree with the phonetic spelling of a particular name, please tell us. Thank you!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.