Guidance on how to pronounce those tricky author names, for authors whose last name begins with "a"!

Author Pronunciations

33 last names beginning with "a"

Page 1 of 2

AB-ag-nail
Aboul-Ela
AH-boo JAH-ber
issel-deen abu-laysh
Gil is short for Gillian, thus pronounced Jill
Chim-muh-MAHN-duh en-GOH-zee ah-DEECH-ee-(ay) The “ay” is soft, not quite a diphthong.
arh-vindh adi-ja
First name pronounced kice (rhymes with rice)
AY-add AHK-tar
u-em ak-pan
The pen name of Grigory Chkhartishvili, pronounced CHAHAR-kesh-veely
Rah-be-a Ahl-ah-meh-dean
When asked, Alarcón's assistant said that he prefers the Spanish pronunciation of his first and last name. Therefore something like this: danYELL all-ar-CONE (the
al-bum (as in record album)
All-bright
AL-da. Most pronounce the first syllable to rhyme with ball, but considering Alda's father created the name from the first two letters of his first and last name (Alphonso D'Abruzzo), arguably the first syllable should be as in the Al in Alphonso.
sher-mn a-lexie
Ees-abel Ay-enday (or ä-YEN-d?)
To quote the author, his name is pronounced "just like the nut"
a-NEE-tah ah-mir-rez-wani
AIM-as
ni-CO-lo ama-NEE-tee
ahm-PWAIR-oh
Halse rhymes with waltz
pole
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
The phonetic pronunciation of each author's name has been verified by the author's publisher. If you are the author, or personally familiar with the author, and disagree with the phonetic spelling of a particular name, please tell us. Thank you!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.