Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Anita de Monte Laughs Last by Xochitl Gonzalez

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Anita de Monte Laughs Last

A Novel

by Xochitl Gonzalez

Anita de Monte Laughs Last by Xochitl Gonzalez X
Anita de Monte Laughs Last by Xochitl Gonzalez
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Mar 2024, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Danielle McClellan
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


An undergraduate art history student researches the life of a Cuban American artist whose story strangely parallels her own.

Brooklyn-based novelist Xochitl Gonzalez is an inspiring writer to follow. At forty, she decided to pivot in her career and pursue a lifelong dream of writing fiction. She enrolled in the prestigious Iowa Writers Workshop and in 2021 received an MFA. A year later, her debut novel Olga Dies Dreaming was published and quickly hit the NYT bestseller list. In that remarkable novel, Gonzalez managed to combine an approachable, entertaining family story with powerful considerations of identity, poverty, race, capitalism, corruption, love, honor, elite privilege, feminism, Puerto Rico and its history and politics.

Now, in her second novel, Anita de Monte Laughs Last, readers are in for another thrilling ride. Again, Gonzalez delivers a satisfying, propulsive story as she relates the sometimes-parallel experiences faced by two Latina women who, a decade apart, must each navigate elitist, ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Artist Ana Mendieta

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Anita de Monte Laughs Last, try these:

We have 4 read-alikes for Anita de Monte Laughs Last, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Xochitl Gonzalez
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Light Eaters
    The Light Eaters
    by Zoë Schlanger
    The human race is completely dependent on plants. Many people, however, give little thought to ...
  • Book Jacket: Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    by J Drew Lanham
    As a recipient of the MacArthur "Genius" Grant, and a Professor of Wildlife Ecology and Master ...
  • Book Jacket: Glorious Exploits
    Glorious Exploits
    by Ferdia Lennon
    Lampo and Gelon are two unemployed potters in their thirties whose lives are spent between their ...
  • Book Jacket: Song of the Six Realms
    Song of the Six Realms
    by Judy I. Lin
    Xue'er has no place in the kingdom of Qi or any of the Six Realms. Her name means "Solitary Snow" ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Familiar
by Leigh Bardugo
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author Leigh Bardugo comes a spellbinding novel set in the Spanish Golden Age.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stolen Child
    by Ann Hood

    An unlikely duo ventures through France and Italy to solve the mystery of a child’s fate.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.