Guidance on how to pronounce those tricky author names, for authors whose last name begins with "E"!

Author Pronunciations

11 last names beginning with "E"

Page 1 of 1

Earl (the final 'e' is silent)
fer-NAHN-dah E-ber-stadt (first letter pronounced like the letter E)
Um-bair-toe EK-oh (the um is like the ending of possum)
first name sounds like the initials S E. Last name sounds like eh-dee-jan
As it looks: en-right
Deelia EF-ruhn
er-drik (means rich earth)
ess-qui-vell
yu-GIN-e-dees
ee-van-o-vich (last syllable rhymes with rich)
no-me
  • Page
  • 1
The phonetic pronunciation of each author's name has been verified by the author's publisher. If you are the author, or personally familiar with the author, and disagree with the phonetic spelling of a particular name, please tell us. Thank you!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Age of Living Machines
    The Age of Living Machines
    by Susan Hockfield
    In the face of looming global challenges, such as overpopulation, resource depletion and disease, Dr...
  • Book Jacket
    The Mars Room
    by Rachel Kushner
    There is palpable tension between expectation and reality in Rachel Kushner's third novel. The ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guest Book
    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake
    Sarah Blake's critically-acclaimed third novel The Guest Book was a hit with our First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: How It Feels to Float
    How It Feels to Float
    by Helena Fox
    Even though Biz's dad has been dead for ten years, he constantly visits her and tells stories about ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Patsy
    by Nicole Dennis-Benn

    A haunting depiction of immigration and womanhood, and the silent threads of love.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Girls Burn Brighter
by Shobha Rao

An extraordinary and heart-rending tale of two girls with all the odds against them.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Conviction

Conviction by Denise Mina

The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L A Let L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.