Guidance on how to pronounce those tricky author names, for authors whose last name begins with "S"!

Author Pronunciations

35 last names beginning with "S"

Page 1 of 2

loo-is sack-er (rhymes with cracker)
sah-lair-no
sails
sch-Aff-ert
shayt
SHULL-man
Will Shwall-bee
SAL-vator-re ski-bone-a
scotto-leany (last part rhymes with linguine)
se-DARE-is
Roota Suh-pettys
A-Mun (rhymes with sun) Say-tea
die-ann seter-field
sha-KO-chis (as it looks, last syllable rhymes with Chris
Sha-KAR
ka-MEE-lah shum-Sea
n-toe-zaak-kay shong-gay
KEER-an (first syllable rhymes with "here")
SHINN-kyung-SOOK (like "suc" in "sucrose")
SHTAYN-gahrt (first syllable rhymes with mine, second with heart)
Dye See-jyeh
zay-dee
tat-YAH-na so-lee
woll soy-inka
je-ree (rhymes with ferry) spi-NEL-ee
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
The phonetic pronunciation of each author's name has been verified by the author's publisher. If you are the author, or personally familiar with the author, and disagree with the phonetic spelling of a particular name, please tell us. Thank you!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.