Guidance on how to pronounce those tricky author names, for authors whose last name begins with "S"!

Author Pronunciations

33 last names beginning with "S"

Page 1 of 2

loo-is sack-er (rhymes with cracker)
sah-lair-no
sails
sch-Aff-ert
shayt
SHULL-man
Will Shwall-bee
SAL-vator-re ski-bone-a
scott-o-leen
se-DARE-is
Roota Suh-pettys
A-Mun (rhymes with sun) Say-tea
die-ann seter-field
Sha-KAR
ka-MEE-lah shum-Sea
n-toe-zaak-kay shong-gay
KEER-an (first syllable rhymes with "here")
SHINN-kyung-SOOK (like "suc" in "sucrose")
SHTAYN-gahrt (first syllable rhymes with mine, second with heart)
Dye See-jyeh
zay-dee
tat-YAH-na so-lee
woll soy-inka
je-ree (rhymes with ferry) spi-NEL-ee
SPUFF-ord (rhymes with stuff)
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
The phonetic pronunciation of each author's name has been verified by the author's publisher. If you are the author, or personally familiar with the author, and disagree with the phonetic spelling of a particular name, please tell us. Thank you!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...

Who Said...

Sometimes I think we're alone. Sometimes I think we're not. In either case, the thought is staggering.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.