Guidance on how to pronounce author names, for authors whose last name begins with "N"!

Author Pronunciations

12 last names beginning with "N"

Page 1 of 1

V S nie-PAWL
nah-kah-MOOR-ah
na-poll-ih-TAH-no (first syllable like 'ap' in apple)
As it looks
Last name is pronounced like the verb to nestle, not like the Swiss food company
ing
GA-nang
Key-en Nwen (pronunciations vary, Nguyen can also be closer to When)
Viet Tang When - Pronunciations vary but the closet English is usually considered to be Nwen or When
Tik · N'yat · Harn
kase note-bom. Opinion differs, some say Cees is pronounced sace, others say case (to rhyme with face); those who say the latter say that Cees is the diminutive of Cornelius and thus the C is hard. The double o's in Nooteboom are pronounced as the Oh in 'Oh my gosh.'
nord-house
  • Page
  • 1
The phonetic pronunciation of each author's name has been verified by the author's publisher. If you are the author, or personally familiar with the author, and disagree with the phonetic spelling of a particular name, please tell us. Thank you!

Editor's Choice


Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Ordinary Girls
    by Jaquira Díaz

    Reminiscent of Tara Westover's Educate and Roxane Gay's Hunger--a memoir that reads as electrically as a novel.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Seine
    by Elaine Sciolino

    "A soulful, transformative voyage along the body of water that defines the City of Light."
    —Lauren Collins
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.