Summary and book reviews of Her Kind of Case by Jeanne Winer

Her Kind of Case

A Lee Isaacs, Esq. Novel

by Jeanne Winer

Her Kind of Case by Jeanne Winer X
Her Kind of Case by Jeanne Winer
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Aug 2018, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

A legal drama that centers on Lee Isaacs, a female defense attorney on the cusp of turning 60, who, out of curiosity, determination, and desire for a big, even impossible, professional challenge, chooses to take on a tough murder case in which a largely uncooperative young man is accused of helping kill a gay gang member.

This beautifully-written novel, which has earned starred reviews from Kirkus, Library Journal and Booklist, is built around not only a gradually resolving mystery, but by fully fleshed-out characters, particularly the strong-willed and sharp-witted Lee. It is a breath of fresh air to see someone of Lee's standing achieve career and personal success as an older single woman who grieves the recent loss of her husband, but continues her daily routine of law and karate, fighting tooth and nail to prove her client not guilty.

(Note: The author, Jeanne Winer, is herself a longtime defense attorney in Boulder, Colorado, and a black-belt karate expert.)

CHAPTER ONE

Someone was knocking on her office door, but Lee didn't move or call out. It was much too early to deal with other people's problems. Her first appointment wasn't scheduled until nine, an hour and a half away, so whoever was knocking so insistently wasn't one of her regular, semi-normal clients.

Her regular clients may have broken the law, perhaps even a very serious law, but they knew about etiquette. You called, made an appointment, and waited downstairs in the beautifully appointed lobby until the receptionist phoned the lawyer and she came down to meet you. So, more likely than not, it was her new court appointment, a client suffering from borderline personality disorder in the first phase of her relationship with Lee: I love you; you're my savior; I have to spend all my time at your feet. Later, in about a month, the second phase would begin: I hate you; you're about to fuck me over; I want a new lawyer.

The knocking stopped and Lee could hear footsteps retreating ...

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!
  1. How do you think Lee's age affected the way she dealt with Jeremy's case? Do you relate at all to her dread of growing old?
  2. Throughout the novel, Lee trusts her gut with multiple decisions she makes. Has there ever been a time in your life when you went with your gut rather than your head?
  3. Lee is very independent, and a bit of an introvert. She routinely turns down invitations to go out with friends, like Carla and Peggy. Would you consider yourself more of an introvert or an extrovert? If you were Lee, would you have gone to the bar with Carla, or gone home alone?
  4. Lee works incredibly hard to defend suspects in some pretty serious cases. She mentions one in which she won a lesser sentence for a mother who smothered her baby to ...
Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

Here are some of the comments posted about Her Kind of Case.
You can see the full discussion here.


Did you agree with Lee's decision to call Rab to the stand? Has there ever been a moment in your life when you took a great risk that ended up paying off?
nancy's, I love your point about Lee not taking risks in her personal life! I didn't even separate the two when I was reading, but now that you have mentioned it, Lee is sooo much more guarded in her personal life. She sticks with what she feels ... - acstrine

Did you appreciate Jeremy's loyalty or resent it? Do you think that you would be as loyal as Jeremy, or turn on your friends to save yourself?
I wonder if loyalty is the right word for describing Jeremy's behavior. I felt like his refusal to testify against the "brothers" had more to do with his own feelings of guilt and self-loathing because he did not step in to save Sam. I think he ... - acstrine

Do you have a Dan of your own, someone who is an adversary at work, but whom you still greatly respect?
My job was a little bit different. As a classroom teacher, collaboration was essential for what we hoped to accomplish. Additionally, we shared many of the same values with regard to helping kids and wanting them to learn. While our individual ... - acstrine

Do you have any hobbies that help prevent one thing taking over your life?
Reading but it is sometimes work as opposed to a hobby. I golf and run, usually not at the same time! ;-) - scgirl

Do you have hope for Jeremy? What kind of future do you imagine for him?
I have hope that Jeremy will overcome his upbringing and make a success of his life. He now has a strong support system (his aunt, Mrs. Weissmann, Mark and Bobby) and is starting to understand that the views of his mother and Leonard are not the only... - terrio

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

Winer's writing is unrelentingly superb as the novel progresses, astutely capturing the intricacies of defending someone accused of murder ... Lee Isaacs is a complex figure, simultaneously confident in her abilities and afraid of failure; a kick-ass, take-no-prisoners type of woman that one can't help cheering for, with hidden vulnerabilities that make her more sympathetic. And Lee isn't the only stand-out character; Winer imbues nearly all her creations with huge personalities that make them feel real and keep readers hooked.   (Reviewed by Kim Kovacs).

Media Reviews

Booklist (starred review)
Winer has spent decades as a criminal defense lawyer, and it shows in every detail. Everything about the book feels just right. Lee is a terrific character, too, and we can only hope that this is the first of many novels about her.

Library Journal (starred review)
Drawing on her own experience as a criminal defense attorney, Winer will keep readers riveted with a twisty plot and a realistic depiction of courtroom proceedings. Highly recommended for those who love emotion-filled legal dramas.

Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
Winer brings vivid, insider knowledge of all things legal, from lawyers' black humor to the importance of details to a jury. Unlike many dull legal novels, though, this is filled with witty dialogue, believable characters, and quick pacing (it's a sure bet that the author never bored a jury).

Reader Reviews

Sandi W.

Winer writes to her own experiences - wonderful!
There are not many books that get a 5 star rating from me. However this book rose right to the top. I had to often remind myself that this book is fiction. In story and character it ranked right up there with the true crime books that I often read. ...   Read More

Yana Gifford

A perfect legal mystery book!
This is an absolutely perfect legal mystery! I do love a good mystery book and a court case thriller, but this book was a page-turning masterpiece of legal mystery books. A wonderfully selected list of characters and scenes. Setting aside the legal ...   Read More

Peggy T

Courtroom Drama Deluxe
I really enjoyed this book and hated for it to end. I hope it is the beginning of a series. It reminded me of Kate Wilhelm’s legal series that began with the book entitled Death Qualified.

Sharalynne Pasztor

Her Kind of Case
This was a well written book about an aging attorney and a case she is working on. Felt like I've read this book many times before though...for me everything that happened I expected...including the ending. What I did enjoy about the book though was ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Her Kind of Case, try these:

  • Miracle Creek jacket

    Miracle Creek

    by Angie Kim

    Published 2019

    About this book

    A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng about how far we'll go to protect our families - and our deepest secrets.

  • Close Case jacket

    Close Case

    by Alafair Burke

    Published 2006

    About this book

    More books by this author

    Investigating the brutal murder of a hotshot journalist, Samantha Kincaid finds herself caught in the middle of an increasingly personal - and potentially dangerous - struggle between Portland's police and the DA's office.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Feast Your Eyes
    Feast Your Eyes
    by Myla Goldberg
    Myla Goldberg's latest novel, Feast Your Eyes, is ostensibly about the works of fictional ...
  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.