Summary and book reviews of Buried In Burrywood by Lana Waite

Buried In Burrywood

by Lana Waite

Buried In Burrywood
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Paperback:
    Oct 2002, 233 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

It's not healthy to be unloveable in Burrywood, Washington. Unsavory citizens begin dying one by one, victims of an assassin. Diana, editor of the local paper, must solve the mystery before she becomes one of the victims.

It's not healthy to be unloveable in Burrywood, Washington. Unsavory citizens begin dying one by one, victims of an assassin. On Monday Diana Sackett, editor of The Burrywood Banner, finds devious mayor Neal Thomas battered to death. On Tuesday she discovers drunkard Tolliver Jackson poisoned in her backyard. And Wednesday, obnoxious Judd Bishop is found dead at the town mansion.

With the help of Winona, owner of The Clamshack diner; Annie, the town's one homeless person; confused, eighty-year-old Reverend Amos; twelve-year-old Ivy; and an assortment of other characters, Diana finally puts it all together. Not, however, before they are all nearly killed in one lethal trap.

Chapter 2

"Really, Lester! Try not to be stupid."

I was in no mood for banter with the overpaid and underworked head of out police department. He knew I hadn't killed Neal. He knew my only active passions lay with printer's ink. I owned The Burrywood Banner, a weekly I'd inherited from my dad. My name was on the masthead - Diana Sackett.

Lester stepped inside, frowning and tight-lipped. I should never have called him stupid. He doesn't take well to criticism. Now he'd have to prove himself-at my expense. "How long you been here?" His voice was raspy and contentious.

"Maybe four minutes."

"Long enough." He moved toward me, the bits of leather and metal hanging about his tan twill uniform creaking and rattling as he walked. He was fifty or so, a little taller than my five-eight, had coarse brown hair, and was in great shape. He worked out, one area in which he was wiser than I. Bulges in my size fourteen clothes attested to that. My principal exercise ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
  • award image

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

This is a classic whodunit which will keep you guessing to the end. If you enjoy curling up with 'cosy' murder mysteries  

Media Reviews

RebeccasReads.com - Dr Barbara Callison

I found this debut mystery, Buried In Burrywood, to be delightful reading. If you like small towns with people who have distinct personalities you will like this mystery. I grew up in a small town, and can easily relate to the characters, especially how everyone knows the other person’s business. I was impressed with descriptive details of each character.

MyShelf.Com - Jen Oliver

Buried in Burrywood takes an interesting look at small-town murders. It introduces the reader to several different and unusual characters Annie, a homeless woman; Winona, a diner owner; Reverend Amos, an old church preacher; and Diana, the local newspaper editor. Diana set outs to solve the murder of Burrywood's mayor and then realizes that several other murders are involved. Buried in Burrywood has plenty of suspects and murders to keep the reader thoroughly entertained. The reader never knows whodunit till the end, which is how a true mystery should play out. The plot has several twists and contains a lot of excitement. The character development is good, and each character is truly unique. Ms. Waite does an excellent job in pulling off a good mystery. This reader can only hope that she will continue to write more. © MyShelf.Com. All Rights Reserved.

The Midwest Book Review - Shelley Glodowski

Buried in Burrywood is a charming story that is about what people are really like. Sweetness comes in the form of ultimate acceptance of their condition. It is when these characters see themselves as they are that they are able to overcome the blocks that have been keeping them from self-acceptance to become contributing members of their little town. An inspiring read.

Author Blurb Marcia Muller - author of Cyanide Wells, and Dead Midnight.
Wonderful characters and a delightful small-town atmosphere that is sure to draw the reader in.

Author Blurb Betsy Wachter, Librarian, Sunnyvale Public Library
Diana, a modern day Miss Marple, recruits a cadre of women to help her solve the crimes.... A few loose ends mar this first novel, but a nice setting and engaging set of characters enliven the suspenseful plot. I look forward to another visit to Burrywood.

Reader Reviews

Dori Folsom

This book was fun. I could (and still can) picture every character in my mind and I would love to visit that delightful small town. I never guessed "who dun it". Write another one quick.

Dwight Isbell

Now waiting for the next Lana Waite book, I spend time searching for Burrywood and the people who call it home. I find myself looking for it on maps here in the Puget Sound Area. It must be here somewhere.
Written in first person, the story gains ...   Read More

Kathy Jordan

Buried in Burrywood is a delightful read. You really develop an understanding of the characters and gain a feeling for small town life. I found myself becoming attached to certain characters and really disliking others. The plot twists and turns, ...   Read More

Anne Louden, librarian

A genuine cliff hanger with great characters you will be anxious to meet, set in a locale that is ripe for adventure.


Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Buried In Burrywood, try these:

  • Claws and Effect jacket

    Claws and Effect

    by Rita Mae Brown

    Published 2002

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Only her quick-witted cat and its animal pals stand between postmistress Mary "Harry" Haristeen and a homicidal maniac who means to ensure that she carries what she knows to the grave.

  • The Cat Who Smelled A Rat jacket

    The Cat Who Smelled A Rat

    by Lilian Jackson Braun

    Published 2002

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Moose County is in the middle of a crime wave when the president of the curling club is pushed to his death down a flight of stairs, and it's up to Qwilleran & Co. to sniff out the rat who is responsible for it all.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.