Summary and book reviews of Buried In Burrywood by Lana Waite

Buried In Burrywood

by Lana Waite

Buried In Burrywood by Lana Waite X
Buried In Burrywood by Lana Waite
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Paperback:
    Oct 2002, 233 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

It's not healthy to be unloveable in Burrywood, Washington. Unsavory citizens begin dying one by one, victims of an assassin. Diana, editor of the local paper, must solve the mystery before she becomes one of the victims.

It's not healthy to be unloveable in Burrywood, Washington. Unsavory citizens begin dying one by one, victims of an assassin. On Monday Diana Sackett, editor of The Burrywood Banner, finds devious mayor Neal Thomas battered to death. On Tuesday she discovers drunkard Tolliver Jackson poisoned in her backyard. And Wednesday, obnoxious Judd Bishop is found dead at the town mansion.

With the help of Winona, owner of The Clamshack diner; Annie, the town's one homeless person; confused, eighty-year-old Reverend Amos; twelve-year-old Ivy; and an assortment of other characters, Diana finally puts it all together. Not, however, before they are all nearly killed in one lethal trap.

Chapter 2

"Really, Lester! Try not to be stupid."

I was in no mood for banter with the overpaid and underworked head of out police department. He knew I hadn't killed Neal. He knew my only active passions lay with printer's ink. I owned The Burrywood Banner, a weekly I'd inherited from my dad. My name was on the masthead - Diana Sackett.

Lester stepped inside, frowning and tight-lipped. I should never have called him stupid. He doesn't take well to criticism. Now he'd have to prove himself-at my expense. "How long you been here?" His voice was raspy and contentious.

"Maybe four minutes."

"Long enough." He moved toward me, the bits of leather and metal hanging about his tan twill uniform creaking and rattling as he walked. He was fifty or so, a little taller than my five-eight, had coarse brown hair, and was in great shape. He worked out, one area in which he was wiser than I. Bulges in my size fourteen clothes attested to that. My principal exercise ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
  • award image

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

This is a classic whodunit which will keep you guessing to the end. If you enjoy curling up with 'cosy' murder mysteries  

Media Reviews

RebeccasReads.com - Dr Barbara Callison
I found this debut mystery, Buried In Burrywood, to be delightful reading. If you like small towns with people who have distinct personalities you will like this mystery. I grew up in a small town, and can easily relate to the characters, especially how everyone knows the other person’s business. I was impressed with descriptive details of each character.

MyShelf.Com - Jen Oliver
Buried in Burrywood takes an interesting look at small-town murders. It introduces the reader to several different and unusual characters Annie, a homeless woman; Winona, a diner owner; Reverend Amos, an old church preacher; and Diana, the local newspaper editor. Diana set outs to solve the murder of Burrywood's mayor and then realizes that several other murders are involved. Buried in Burrywood has plenty of suspects and murders to keep the reader thoroughly entertained. The reader never knows whodunit till the end, which is how a true mystery should play out. The plot has several twists and contains a lot of excitement. The character development is good, and each character is truly unique. Ms. Waite does an excellent job in pulling off a good mystery. This reader can only hope that she will continue to write more. © MyShelf.Com. All Rights Reserved.

The Midwest Book Review - Shelley Glodowski
Buried in Burrywood is a charming story that is about what people are really like. Sweetness comes in the form of ultimate acceptance of their condition. It is when these characters see themselves as they are that they are able to overcome the blocks that have been keeping them from self-acceptance to become contributing members of their little town. An inspiring read.

Author Blurb Marcia Muller - author of Cyanide Wells, and Dead Midnight.
Wonderful characters and a delightful small-town atmosphere that is sure to draw the reader in.

Author Blurb Betsy Wachter, Librarian, Sunnyvale Public Library
Diana, a modern day Miss Marple, recruits a cadre of women to help her solve the crimes.... A few loose ends mar this first novel, but a nice setting and engaging set of characters enliven the suspenseful plot. I look forward to another visit to Burrywood.

Reader Reviews

Dori Folsom

This book was fun. I could (and still can) picture every character in my mind and I would love to visit that delightful small town. I never guessed "who dun it". Write another one quick.

Dwight Isbell

Now waiting for the next Lana Waite book, I spend time searching for Burrywood and the people who call it home. I find myself looking for it on maps here in the Puget Sound Area. It must be here somewhere.
Written in first person, the story gains ...   Read More

Kathy Jordan

Buried in Burrywood is a delightful read. You really develop an understanding of the characters and gain a feeling for small town life. I found myself becoming attached to certain characters and really disliking others. The plot twists and turns, ...   Read More

Anne Louden, librarian

A genuine cliff hanger with great characters you will be anxious to meet, set in a locale that is ripe for adventure.


Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

More books by Lana Waite

If you liked Buried In Burrywood, try these:

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Age of Living Machines
    The Age of Living Machines
    by Susan Hockfield
    In the face of looming global challenges, such as overpopulation, resource depletion and disease, Dr...
  • Book Jacket
    The Mars Room
    by Rachel Kushner
    There is palpable tension between expectation and reality in Rachel Kushner's third novel. The ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guest Book
    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake
    Sarah Blake's critically-acclaimed third novel The Guest Book was a hit with our First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: How It Feels to Float
    How It Feels to Float
    by Helena Fox
    Even though Biz's dad has been dead for ten years, he constantly visits her and tells stories about ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Patsy
    by Nicole Dennis-Benn

    A haunting depiction of immigration and womanhood, and the silent threads of love.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
An American Marriage
by Tayari Jones

A masterpiece of storytelling, and a 2018 Oprah's Book Club Selection.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Conviction

Conviction by Denise Mina

The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L A Let L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.