Reading guide for Give and Take by Adam M. Grant

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Give and Take

A Revolutionary Approach to Success

by Adam M. Grant

Give and Take by Adam M. Grant
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Apr 2013, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2014, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jennifer G Wilder

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. In your life, who have you seen achieve the most success in the long run—the matchers, the takers, or the givers?
  2. What are the situations in which you operate more like a matcher, versus a taker or a giver? What triggers bring out each style for you?
  3. Who are the most successful givers that you know?
  4. How do you spot a taker? In your experience, what clues do they leak?
  5. In your world, whose giving goes the most unrecognized?
  6. How might you help recognize these givers in your life? How do you think they might respond?
  7. Once you have spotted a taker, how do you deal with them? What do you find are the best strategies for protecting yourself against them?
  8. What type of giving do you find most meaningful and enjoyable? Is it connecting people, sharing knowledge, providing feedback, mentoring, problem-solving, or finding ways to recognize others?
  9. How might you let others know that you enjoy this type of giving?
  10. Help-seeking is the most common starting point for giving; without it, people don't know what others need and how they can help. What would happen if you created a marketplace for giving and receiving by organizing a group of 10-15 people and inviting everyone to make a request and try to help each other? Who would you invite, and what would you ask for?
  11. If you were looking to do a five-minute favor for someone else, what would be it be?
  12. How do you decide who to help—is it the person who needs the most, the person you can help the most, or someone else?
  13. When someone asks you for help, how do you typically decide whether to help them yourself or try to connect them to someone else?
  14. When many requests are on your plate, how do you avoid burnout?
  15. How do you strike a balance between looking for the potential in others and being realistic about their intentions and capabilities?
  16. Do you tend to sprinkle your giving behavior out over time or concentrate it into a single day? Why?
  17. Have you noticed any gender differences in styles of give and take? Any differences between industries or countries?
  18. What do you think are the biggest misconceptions people have about givers? How might you help change their minds?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Penguin Books. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.