Reader reviews and comments on The Color of Water, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Color of Water

by James McBride

The Color of Water
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 1996, 228 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 1997, 228 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 8 of 13
There are currently 97 reader reviews for The Color of Water
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

shady (10/28/02)

it was a great book that talked a lot about human nature
Amanda (10/17/02)

I thought the book was incredible. It opened my eyes to a whole new world. Ruth is an outstanding woman and mother. She is a role model to all those who suffer through racism and abuse.
Steven (10/16/02)

THIS BOOK SUCKED they kept talkin and talkin and there are tons of movies that the same its a typical story.
Izzo fa shezzo my nezzo (10/15/02)

this is the poorest book i have ever read!!!

"McBride, if u ever write a book again, mann i would never read it thats all i have to say
Quique El Loco (10/09/02)

This is an amazing book. I loved every page, every word, from the front cover to the back cover. Im not the type of person who you can say "reads for fun" I read this book in class, I finisged it in three days. Thats how great it is. Now im getting more and more into reading for fun.

ITS BOOKS LIKE THESE THAT MAKE PEOPLE REALLY READ FOR FUN!!!
Debbie Sealey (09/24/02)

It is the most extraordinary book that I have read for a while it took me the whole
of 2 days to read and I had to read it again. Could not put it down.

Keep up the good writing

Best Wishes
Debbie
akilah (09/19/02)

The book was a good story. I liked how he made the tribute to his mother,and shared her story.
jamal (09/12/02)

You should read this book why ?
Find out when you read!!!!!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...
  • Book Jacket
    Find Me Unafraid
    by Kennedy Odede, Jessica Posner
    With staggering emotional weight and keen awareness of love and humanity even in the darkest places,...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.