Reader reviews and comments on Snow Falling On Cedars, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Snow Falling On Cedars

by David Guterson

Snow Falling On Cedars
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 1994, 345 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 1995, 460 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 6
There are currently 44 reader reviews for Snow Falling On Cedars
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Dave S (06/01/11)

Snow Falling on Cedars
I read this many years ago, but still count it among my favorites. It is one of those rare books where the setting is painted so vividly, you are taken there to listen and experience the story firsthand. And once you are there, the story flows beautifully and dramatically, keeping you engaged from the first page to the last.
Scrutiny (05/29/11)

Enjoyable
While flowing through a series of flashbacks and present day proceedings, an inexperienced reader may feel lost. But these same flashbacks delve deeply into the mindsets of the characters and opens the reader up to a much closer connection to each character. Guterson's extensive use of description will not leave the reader wondering. He expertly puts the reader in the middle of each scene, uncensored. If the reader is disgusted by the war scenes, or uncomfetable with the more sensual scenes, then Guterson has achieved success, as dramatic reactions on part of the reader are certain to be expected. A must read for older readers who are willing to immerse themselves in a book for hours.
some reviewer (05/29/11)

Overall, good
Admittedly, the beginning nearly turned me off. But once I got through the opening, I did not want to put it down. The book keeps you guessing, and the pages keep turning.
Noble (11/15/10)

SUCKS.
I cant even get past the first three chapters. It puts me to sleep.
corshelle (04/21/10)

the best book ever
This was one of the best books I have ever read. It pulls you in then spits you out. You can't put it down.
????? (01/29/10)

0
I could not get past the first few pages. At first it moves to slow, then it picks up, but it stays pretty slow.
UNKNOWN!!!!! (05/17/07)

Snow falling on cedars my opinion
I found this book extremely boring!!!! Although I can give it props because it described everything in the book in a very detailed manner. I had to read it for a project and the beginning of the book is drastically boring. The love story within the book is the only part that I found very interesting . It was a beautiful and emotional part. Guterson did not have to describe the the intercourse parts so vividly though I do recommend this book if you are interested in the court room setting I do not recommend if you don't like long books and books that aren't interesting from the beginning.
reader j (01/08/07)

Brilliant
I had to read this book in English class and once I started reading I couldn't stop anymore. I find that the novel is written brilliantly- calm, but not boring. Every character is so lively!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.