Reader reviews and comments on The Book Thief, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Book Thief

by Markus Zusak

The Book Thief
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2006, 560 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2007, 576 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 4 of 10
There are currently 75 reader reviews for The Book Thief
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Linda (08/29/09)

The Book Thief
Although a good story, very long and boring to get to the point. Too long, situations repetitive. Boring, boring, boring.
Judy Halperin (06/11/09)

The Book Thief
If I could I would give this book much more than the "Very Good" option offered. I haven't yet got to the end, but I have to to say that it is definitely one of the best books that I have read in my lifetime.
Bob (05/23/09)

Great book
The book, The Book Thief is a great and heartbreaking book. Markus Zusak is a wonderful and passionate writer. I'd rate his on my top 5 favorite authors.
Johnny (05/18/09)

Book Thief Review
I love how Zusak puts little small bits of information in the middle of his writing so you could understand the story more. It is also one of the best books I have ever read in my entire life.
Sara Placuszok (05/10/09)

AMAZING!
This book way simply amazing! It had really good imagery, and a really good story line! And it also had a lot of heart! I thought that this book should receive all of the medals that it deserves! This book was AMAZING!
sharon (05/08/09)

A wonderful read for all ages
Don't let the "young adult" tag fool you, this is a fabulous read for everyone. Refreshing and dare I say entertaining for such serious subject matter. Anyone who loves books will love Liesel. History, humanity, morality, tragedy...this is a book I treasure.
Emily Bridges, Taylor Sims, Amber Hardesty, and Cody Grantham (04/27/09)

Book Thief Review
From the perspective of Death, The Book Thief, is a book not only with suspense, but also a story full of intensity and emotion. It is the story of a little girl named Liesel Meminger who is adopted into a German home during World War II. Her mother had been taken away by the Nazis in January 1939. The different events of Liesel's life tell an unforgettable story of love, death, and war. We recommend this book because it will keep you on your toes and wanting more. As you read you will discover exactly what life was like for the families during World War II. As soon as you start reading you will not want to put the book down.
Leighton (03/24/09)

The Book Thief
“The Book Thief” is one of the more interesting Holocaust books that you’ll have the pleasure of reading. It tells the story of a young girl, Liesel, who is left in a foster home in Nazi Germany, Rudy, a young, rebellions Aryan child, and Max, a Jewish refugee. Together the three become fast friends in a dangerous world of madness and hate.

The first hundred pages are rather confusing. Narrated by the deity Death, there’s a bit of a learning curve. Death is a perplexing character with a strange sense of humor and a grim, sarcastic view on the world. The plot is frequently interrupted for brief ‘announcements’ by the narrating angel, making for an unorthodox formatting. Because of this, some readers may feel slightly out of their comfort zone. But as the pages press on, the reader is drawn into the story, and by page one hundred you can’t put the book down.

I don’t want to ruin the deeper elements of the story, because some of them are truly explosive. But I can say without a second thought that its plot is a true pleasure to experience. With twists and turns, allusion and advances, flashbacks and fast-forwarding, the plot has more drama than TBS. The personage of Death adds a second perspective to the story as well, and his own story is just as interesting as well. Overall, I consider this to be an excellent book, and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys historical fiction or drama.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.