Reader reviews and comments on The Book Thief, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Book Thief

by Markus Zusak

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak X
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2006, 560 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2007, 576 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 2 of 10
There are currently 73 reader reviews for The Book Thief
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Patrick Libby (12/06/11)

I did not like it
When I came to a part talking about some woman digging in the snow for a boy with blood freezing on her hands seeing two hearts and then something about a WARM scream in her throat (I have never heard of any scream described as anything but icy or at least cold) - I gave up right there wondering why anyone in their right mind would even entertain the notion of publishing such a far out, non coherent fairy tail. I've heard better stories from people out of their mind on drugs on the streets of the big cities that made more sense than this. I could not get half way through it.
Haylee (11/29/11)

The book Thief
The very first page had me lost. The book had no point to it, not one. It told me stuff I already knew. It just went on and on.
ILOVEBOOKS (01/27/11)

5 Stars All the Way!
This Book makes you laugh, makes you cry, and introduces you to a new way of thinking. From it's exiting plot to lovable characters...Book Thief all The way!
Michaela Adams-Kalama (01/17/11)

Absolutely Stunning!
This book is a masterpiece, created by the artist himself, Markus Zusak. This novel is impossible to put down once you start reading from the very first page. It's a mind-blowing story told from Death's point of view that makes you think about your own life, and it WILL make an impact in your life.
I highly recommend it to everyone, even those who don't read. It's a must read.
Marie (01/04/11)

The Book Thief
This book was just amazingly good. When I received it as a gift I didn't think much of it and put it off for a while. But one day I finally picked it up and couldn't put it down. This book literally made and laugh out loud and bawl my eyes out, and I am not just saying that. Everyone should read this book!!
MUSICofFAITH (01/03/11)

Wonderful!
Markus is an outstanding author for many reasons. He uses foreshadowing to the point where he often blatantly reveals what is going to happen in the book, much to the irritation of some readers. However, this technique makes the reader focus on the character development as they approach these already known events. As a busy 17-year-old, I hardly have time to read anymore. This book, however, was worth the time out of my schedule. I've emerged with a new perspective on WWII, new techniques to use in my own writing, and with an improved philosophy of humanity. Highly recommended.
Georgia (12/19/10)

eh...
I have to read this book for a book club that im in. I don't like it at all because of all the curse words and German used in Markus Zusak's writing. it is hard for me to understand. other then that the concept is very good and it is an enjoyable book. however the previously listed dislikes rate very high on my scale and are why I reviewed this book with only a 2.
Erica (09/07/10)

The Book Thief 5 Stars
The Book Thief was an astounding book! I am 13 and have read this book twice. The first was assigned, but I loved it so much I had to read it again and I am planning on reading it a 3rd time! It never gets old! You may be older and thinking, "If a young person likes this, I must not!" but I'll have you know I am an advanced reader and do believe that it fits anyone's compatibility of 13 years. The book was enlightening and has some suspense. It's sad at times but otherwise an intriguing read. I LOVED The Book Thief and hope to read it a 3rd time!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.