Read what people think about Sister by Rosamund Lupton, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books


A Novel

by Rosamund Lupton

  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jun 2011
    336 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book

Buy This Book

About this book


Page 1 of 3
There are currently 22 reader reviews for Sister
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Lisa E. (Cincinnati, OH) (06/28/11)

More about Families than Crime
This novel is a meditation on families more than a murder mystery. Unobtrusively written sort of in the second person, as a letter addressed to the narrator's murdered sister, the novel explores the dynamics among a family that had been shattered years ago by the death of a brother and now is facing the murder of a sister. The murder mystery itself is a little far-fetched but well within belief. The novel is well-written and compelling.
Beverly J. (Huntersville, NC) (06/28/11)

Heart-breaking Suspense
This was an accomplished debut novel that grabbed me from the first page to the unexpected finish. While the story read like a detective novel, it definitely has a feminine feel as it concentrates on the bond between the sisters, and the other female characters. I enjoyed how the suspense was built around the characters and builds one fact at a time. The author’s skills as a screen writer show as she vividly paints each scene. Many times I felt I was intruding into the intimate life of Beatrice as she bares her soul with the grief of losing her sister. The author masterfully blends suspense, intrigue, family secrets, literary aspects and the epistolary format to produce a chilling, tragic, heart-breaking story that despite the warning builds to an unexpected twist at the end.
Robyn N. (Highland Village, TX) (06/16/11)

Although I enjoyed the book, there was too much fluff. It could've been told in far fewer words. I thought the character development was good and the ending was somewhat of a surprise....a little predictable but it was still good.
Kimberly B. (Atlanta, GA) (06/14/11)

Unbroken Bonds Make Great Stories!
Rosamund Lupton is a brilliant author who uses vivid imagery and emphasis on human emotion to lure the reader! Through the main character Beatrice, Lupton displays impenetrable bonds of blood and love and their powerful affects on the human mind in terms of sanity.

This is a suspenseful story of the persistent unshakeable love of a sister that can't be daunted even by the bonds of death.

Plain and simple, this book is a good read! Perfect for book clubs!
Meera (Ma) (06/12/11)

a moving thriller
When I started this book, I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it. The book is written in the perspective of the main character talking directly to her missing sister and brings up a lot of anecdotes from the past while still in the present. I found it hard to keep track of what is happening. However, once I became accustomed to the unique narrative style, I was drawn into the story. I had to know what happened to the missing sister. They mystery was attention grabbing and was not easy to figure out. I found the main character to be deeply faceted. This book would appeal to readers who like mysteries and/or thrillers. I think the author did a fine job with her first novel. I could not give this the highest rating because I think her writing needed some polishing, especially in the beginning of the novel. But I would definitely read her next novel.
Krista (Grayslake, IL) (06/10/11)

Sisters - a bit disappointed
I was looking forward to this book, as I am very close to my sisters and thought the premise of one sister seeking justice for her murdered sister would be a compelling read. The book started strongly, and really kept my interest, but about half-way thru, it started slowing down and lost me. Some of the characters just didn't seem believable, I didn't totally finish the book, but skimmed the end to see Who Done It, and was disappointed in the ending. I did find the subject matter to be interesting, just sort of lost steam along the way.
Rebecca J. (Knoxville, TN) (06/06/11)

Sister by Lupton
I looked forward to reading this book as I am a big fan of psychological thrillers. This is the story of Beatrice who cannot believe her sister Tess has committed suicide even though that is the police finding. Beatrice decides to investigate. The story kept you guessing "who done it" until the end and was well written, if a bit unbelievable in spots. I would definitely read another book by this author.
Marta T. (Lafayette, CA) (06/05/11)

Poignant mystery in unusual style
This story is a letter to a beloved sister. The narrator, Bea, describes her search for the truth behind her sister's disappearance, which becomes linked with a pregnancy and apparent suicide. The immediacy of the telling is subtly layered, focusing on the history of the sisters' bond to understand present events, which are relayed in three close time periods: the first, Bea's observation of the investigation; the second, her retelling of events to a lawyer; and the third, the drafting of the letter. Sister is a suspenseful mystery touching on devotion, betrayal, self-absorption, madness, and above all, grief.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

More Information


Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Hag-Seed
    by Margaret Atwood
    There's a scene in The Tempest that many critics have concluded is indicative of Shakespeare&#...
  • Book Jacket: Crossing the Horizon
    Crossing the Horizon
    by Laurie Notaro
    In Crossing the Horizon, Laurie Notaro takes us back to a time when flying was a rare and risky ...
  • Book Jacket
    Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions
    by Mario Giordano
    Munich matron and self-described worldly sophisticate, Isolde Oberreiter, has decided to retire to a...
Book Discussions
Book Jacket
The Bone Tree
by Greg Iles

An epic trilogy of blood and race, family and justice.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Next
    by Stephanie Gangi

    Fast-paced, wickedly observant, and haunting in the best sense of the word.

    Read Member Reviews

Win this book!
Win The World of Poldark

Win the book & DVD

Enter to win The World of Poldark and the full first series on DVD.


Word Play

Solve this clue:

One S D N M A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.


Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!

Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.