We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

BookBrowse Reviews Love, Hate and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Love, Hate and Other Filters

by Samira Ahmed

Love, Hate and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed X
Love, Hate and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jan 2018, 288 pages

    Paperback:
    Jan 2019, 312 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


In this unforgettable debut novel, an Indian-American Muslim teen copes with Islamophobia, cultural divides among peers and parents, and a reality she can neither explain nor escape.

Seventeen-year-old Maya Aziz has a lot of secrets. The high school senior and aspiring documentary filmmaker longs to attend the film program at NYU and has been accepted to the highly competitive program. But she is terrified of telling her parents, who would prefer her to attend the University of Chicago or Northwestern, schools where they can keep close tabs on her from their suburban Chicago home. Maya is also harboring a not-so-secret infatuation with her classmate Phil, who may be available (and interested?) following a breakup with his longtime girlfriend. But how can Maya tell her parents that she's in love with a white boy when they, both immigrants from India, are devoting themselves to matching her with a nice young Indian Muslim boy?

Maya loves and admires her parents, who made their own love match in India and started a successful dental practice in the United States. And when they encourage her to date a suitable (and handsome) young man named Kareem, she finds herself enjoying their time together. But is suitability enough to overcome Maya's curiosity about and attraction to Phil?

What starts out as a fairly traditional love triangle plot quickly takes a sharp and dramatic turn, however, when a terror attack in nearby Springfield, Illinois turns Maya's life on edge. She doesn't know anyone who's been injured or killed in the attack, and she certainly doesn't know the perpetrator - but the top suspect just happens to also be named Aziz, and in the course of a single day, Maya and her family go from being an ordinary family, respected in their upper-middle-class suburban community, to being targeted by those who hate them for their name and their religion. Societal prejudice and fear soon intersects with Maya's personal life, and she finds herself questioning whether all the doors she once thought were open—doors leading to education, career fulfillment, and love - have now been slammed in her face.

In Samira Ahmed's thoughtful debut novel, Maya's first-person narrative alternates with more ominous passages fueled by hate and dread, passages that initially may unsettle readers and eventually may force them to wrestle with their own prejudices and preconceptions. The shift from straightforward young adult romance to a more intense story of intolerance and hatred may seem abrupt or even jarring to many readers, but in the end, this backdrop helps provide context for Maya's personal conflicts and illustrate how her particular struggles are both universal and also specific to her identity as a young American Muslim woman of Indian descent.

One of the most compelling characters in Ahmed's novel is Maya's aunt, Hina. A successful graphic designer living independently in Chicago, she shares a heritage and inherited value system with Maya's parents but has made very different choices. Maya views her independent, opinionated aunt as a role model, and when things get tense with her parents, she increasingly relies on Hina as a source of strength, resources, and inspiration. Hina's story isn't a perfect one - she acknowledges what she's given up by prioritizing career over a more traditional Indian marriage and family - but she offers a way for Maya to imagine a new kind of future for herself, one that may manage to marry the best aspects of Indian tradition and Muslim faith with the possibilities and freedoms of modern American culture. What's more, the crisis that Maya and her family undergo prompts Maya to move outside her comfort zone - observing her life as if through a film camera - and become a much more active participant in her own life and loves.

Love, Hate, and Other Filters doesn't offer easy answers or tidy endings for its characters, but readers are left knowing that Maya has grown stronger thanks to her experiences and has found the courage to speak up for herself and to imagine her own hopeful vision for the future.

Reviewed by Norah Piehl

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in January 2018, and has been updated for the February 2019 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Love, Hate and Other Filters, try these:

  • How to Build a Heart jacket

    How to Build a Heart

    by Maria Padian

    Published 2021

    About this book

    One young woman's journey to find her place in the world as the carefully separated strands of her life - family, money, school, and love - begin to overlap and tangle. 

  • Watch Us Rise jacket

    Watch Us Rise

    by Renee Watson, Ellen Hagen

    Published 2020

    About this book

    More by this author

    Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Award-winning author Renée Watson teams up with poet Ellen Hagan in this YA feminist anthem about raising your voice.

We have 8 read-alikes for Love, Hate and Other Filters, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Samira Ahmed
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ascent
    The Ascent
    by Adam Plantinga
    Adam Plantinga's brilliant debut novel, The Ascent, introduces readers to former Detroit police ...
  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

  • Book Jacket

    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray

    She took on titans, battled generals, and changed the world as we know it…

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.