Notable Female Indian Filmmakers: Background information when reading Love, Hate and Other Filters

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Love, Hate and Other Filters

by Samira Ahmed

Love, Hate and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed X
Love, Hate and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jan 2018, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2019, 312 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl
Buy This Book

About this Book

Notable Female Indian Filmmakers

This article relates to Love, Hate and Other Filters

Print Review

At one point in Love, Hate, and Other Filters, Maya's best friend Violet tells her that love is "a part of who you are, not an object you can film and capture in different kinds of light." Maya is used to viewing the world - including her own life - through the lens of film. She wants to be a documentary filmmaker, and Ahmed's novel mentions several filmmakers - many of them Indian women - who provide inspiration for Maya's future career. Numerous women from India and of Indian descent are making memorable and groundbreaking films, including documentaries. Here are just a few of these notable filmmakers:


Deepa MehtaDeepa Mehta is an Indian Canadian filmmaker best known for her "Elements" trilogy: Fire (1996), Earth (1998), and Water (2005). Her films have been nominated for the Academy Award, but have also garnered protests by Hindu fundamentalists and even death threats for Mehta because of her films' depiction of controversial themes.


Mira NairMira Nair is among the best-known Indian American filmmakers. Her films include Missisissipi Masala (1991), Monsoon Wedding (2001), The Namesake (2006), and the Academy Award–nominated Salaam Bombay! (1998). In addition to making her own films, Nair has established a Ugandan-based film school to encourage young African filmmakers.


Pratibha Parmar and Alice WalkerPratibha Parmar is a British filmmaker whose documentaries have a strong activist agenda, particularly with regard to women's and queer rights. She is perhaps best known for Warrior Marks (1993), a collaboration with the novelist Alice Walker, about female genital mutilation. She has also made films about Walker herself, as well as about the actor Jodie Foster and the role of African American women in the US Civil Rights Movement.


Nishtha JainNishtha Jain is another Indian documentarian whose works address social issues. Lakshmi and Me (2007) is a documentary about the divide between an employer (Jain herself) and her domestic servant, while Gulabi Gang (2014) follows a vigilante group of women in rural central India who wear pink saris and combat violence against women (See review of Pink Sari Revolution, about the same group.)


Sherna DasturSherna Dastur is an Indian documentary filmmaker whose film Manjuben Truck Driver (2002) is about a woman deliberately dismantling gender stereotypes.



Deepa Mehta, courtesy of indianexpress.com
Mira Nair
Pratibha Parmar and Alice Walker, courtesy of www.feministwire.com
Sherna Dastur, courtesy of www.cultureunplugged.com
Nishtha Jain, courtesy of www.avidlearning.in

Article by Norah Piehl

This "beyond the book article" relates to Love, Hate and Other Filters. It originally ran in January 2018 and has been updated for the January 2019 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    by Olga Tokarczuk
    A subversive feminist noir mystery set in a remote Polish village, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of...
  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.