Notable Female Indian Filmmakers: Background information when reading Love, Hate and Other Filters

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Love, Hate and Other Filters

by Samira Ahmed

Love, Hate and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed X
Love, Hate and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jan 2018, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2019, 312 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl
Buy This Book

About this Book

Notable Female Indian Filmmakers

This article relates to Love, Hate and Other Filters

Print Review

At one point in Love, Hate, and Other Filters, Maya's best friend Violet tells her that love is "a part of who you are, not an object you can film and capture in different kinds of light." Maya is used to viewing the world - including her own life - through the lens of film. She wants to be a documentary filmmaker, and Ahmed's novel mentions several filmmakers - many of them Indian women - who provide inspiration for Maya's future career. Numerous women from India and of Indian descent are making memorable and groundbreaking films, including documentaries. Here are just a few of these notable filmmakers:


Deepa MehtaDeepa Mehta is an Indian Canadian filmmaker best known for her "Elements" trilogy: Fire (1996), Earth (1998), and Water (2005). Her films have been nominated for the Academy Award, but have also garnered protests by Hindu fundamentalists and even death threats for Mehta because of her films' depiction of controversial themes.


Mira NairMira Nair is among the best-known Indian American filmmakers. Her films include Missisissipi Masala (1991), Monsoon Wedding (2001), The Namesake (2006), and the Academy Award–nominated Salaam Bombay! (1998). In addition to making her own films, Nair has established a Ugandan-based film school to encourage young African filmmakers.


Pratibha Parmar and Alice WalkerPratibha Parmar is a British filmmaker whose documentaries have a strong activist agenda, particularly with regard to women's and queer rights. She is perhaps best known for Warrior Marks (1993), a collaboration with the novelist Alice Walker, about female genital mutilation. She has also made films about Walker herself, as well as about the actor Jodie Foster and the role of African American women in the US Civil Rights Movement.


Nishtha JainNishtha Jain is another Indian documentarian whose works address social issues. Lakshmi and Me (2007) is a documentary about the divide between an employer (Jain herself) and her domestic servant, while Gulabi Gang (2014) follows a vigilante group of women in rural central India who wear pink saris and combat violence against women (See review of Pink Sari Revolution, about the same group.)


Sherna DasturSherna Dastur is an Indian documentary filmmaker whose film Manjuben Truck Driver (2002) is about a woman deliberately dismantling gender stereotypes.



Deepa Mehta, courtesy of indianexpress.com
Mira Nair
Pratibha Parmar and Alice Walker, courtesy of www.feministwire.com
Sherna Dastur, courtesy of www.cultureunplugged.com
Nishtha Jain, courtesy of www.avidlearning.in

Article by Norah Piehl

This "beyond the book article" relates to Love, Hate and Other Filters. It originally ran in January 2018 and has been updated for the January 2019 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Feast Your Eyes
    Feast Your Eyes
    by Myla Goldberg
    Myla Goldberg's latest novel, Feast Your Eyes, is ostensibly about the works of fictional ...
  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.