BookBrowse Reviews The Red Wolf Conspiracy by Robert V. Redick

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Red Wolf Conspiracy

by Robert V. Redick

The Red Wolf Conspiracy
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Apr 2009, 464 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2010, 544 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A fantasy debut, bursting with magic and adventure, the first in a planned trilogy

Publicists often use comparisons to well-known authors to convince readers to pick up a novel by an unknown writer. In the case of The Red Wolf Conspiracy, this tactic does the author a disservice. Robert Redick's writing is so good and original that neither of the comparisons listed in the book's description do it justice. If you're expecting another Game of Thrones or Golden Compass, you'll be disappointed, as The Red Wolf Conspiracy resembles neither. If you're looking for a simply great fantasy read, though, this is your book.

The Red Wolf Conspiracy falls neatly into the "high fantasy" genre. Redick immerses the reader in themes and archetypical characters many will recognize from other novels in the category (good vs. evil; the young protagonist with a mysterious skill and/or past; the malevolent Dark Lord who wants to take over the world; etc.) Redick, ...

Series Order
Originally planned as a trilogy, the Chathrand Voyage has been expanded to four books but the author assures readers that "the tale will end decisively with Book IV"

  • The Red Wolf Conspiracy (UK: 2008; USA: 2009)
  • The Rats and the Ruling Sea; published in the UK in 2009; publishing in the USA in Feb 2010 as The Ruling Sea
  • The River of Shadows, scheduled for release in 2011
  • The Night of the Swarm

Sea Fever
*Interestingly, the term tall ship is modern, and was not generally used in the era when such vessels ruled the waves. Some think that the popularity of the term stems from John Masefield's 1900 poem "Sea Fever"

I must go down to the seas again, to the lonely sea and the sky,
And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.