Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Red Wolf Conspiracy

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Red Wolf Conspiracy

by Robert V. S. Redick

The Red Wolf Conspiracy by Robert V. S. Redick
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Apr 2009, 464 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2010, 544 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

A Beginner's Guide to Tall Ships
The Red Wolf Conspiracy takes place almost entirely aboard an immense sailing ship (aka "tall ship") with seven decks and five sails, similar, albeit perhaps on a grander scale, to those one might envision in use during the 18th century. Although the book is set in a fantasy world, Redick references familiar ship types and crew positions throughout the novel.

A tall ship* is a large traditionally rigged sailing vessel.  Tall ships are defined by their rigging, their masts and, in particular, by their sails. Some of the more common ship types are:

  • Fully-Rigged: Three or more masts with square sails on each mast.
  • Barque: Three or more masts, with square sails on all except the smaller mizzen mast at the back (aft) of the boat.
  • Barquentine: Three or more masts, but with a square sail only on the fore mast.
  • Brig: Two masts, with square sails on both.
  • Brigatine: Two masts, with square sails on the fore but not the aft mast.
  • Cutter: One mast with two or more foresails.
  • Ketch: Two masts, with the fore being higher than the aft.
  • Schooner: Two or more masts of equal height or with the aft mast being higher.
  • Sloop: One mast with the foresail forward of the mast.
  • Yawl: Two masts, with the aft mast behind the steering position.

In addition to the crew (aka the "hands"), other important positions aboard an 18th century ship would have included:

  • Captain – The individual ultimately responsible for everything aboard the ship: Personnel, cargo, rigging, navigation, etc.
  • First Mate – The second in command, who takes over if the Captain becomes incapacitated.
  • Bosun or Boatswain – A very experienced sailor, expected to inspect all ropes and sails, replacing any that are damaged or frayed. Also responsible for the secure storage of the ship's cargo and other supplies.
  • Quartermaster – Maintains order and discipline aboard the ship; also responsible for purchasing supplies and the distribution thereof.
  • Gunner – Responsible for the use and maintenance of the cannon aboard the ship.
  • Carpenter – Performs repairs to the hull, deck and masts.
  • Surgeon – Responsible for any and all medical care. There were no formal qualifications for this position; skill was mostly gained through experience.
  • Navigator – Calculates the ship's position. In times past, often using just the sun and stars as guides.
  • Pilot (Helmsman) – The person who steers the ship.
  • Master – A section leader (Master Gunner, Master Carpenter, etc.).
  • Cabin Boy – A young boy responsible for waiting on the officers of the ship, running errands and delivering messages; also an apprentice of sorts, expected to learn all aspects of the maritime trade. (Similar to the "tarboy" featured throughout The Red Wolf Conspiracy.)

Article by Kim Kovacs

This article was originally published in May 2009, and has been updated for the January 2010 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.