BookBrowse Reviews The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

by Stieg Larsson

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2008, 480 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2009, 480 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

A spellbinding amalgam of murder mystery, family saga, love story, and financial intrigue

On one level, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson is a traditional "closed-room" mystery, albeit an exceptionally well-written one. It compares favorably with the works of Agatha Christie and Dorothy Sayers. The characters are well-drawn, there is a profusion of suspects, and the reader is presented with lots of logical, thorough detective work. Additionally, there are enough twists and turns to prevent the story from becoming dull or predictable. Simply viewed as a mystery novel, the book is a fine addition to the genre.

...

First Impressions
Twenty-two BookBrowse members have reviewed this book rating it an overall 4.5 on a 5 point scale. Read their comments here.


The Millennium Series
The initial entry in the series, Män som hatar kvinnor ("Men Who Hate Women"), was awarded the prestigious Glass Key award as the best Nordic crime novel in 2005. It was published in hardcover in the UK in early 2008 as The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. USA publication in hardcover followed in September 2008, with the paperback publishing this week (July 2009).

The second book in the trilogy, ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.