Stieg Larsson biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Stieg Larsson
Photo: Britt-Marie Trensmar

Stieg Larsson

How to pronounce Stieg Larsson: Steeg (rhymes with league) LARSson

Stieg Larsson Biography

Swedish author Stieg Larsson's life is every bit as fascinating as that of any fictional character. Mikael Blomkvist, the protagonist of The Millenium Series, in fact bears many similarities to his creator.

Karl Stig-Erland Larsson was born on August 15, 1954 in Västerbotten, in northern Sweden. He was raised in the countryside by his grandparents until his grandfather's death in 1962 (despite considerable research, including questions to his publisher, that is all we have been able to glean of his childhood).

After performing his mandatory two-year military service, Larsson traveled widely in Africa, witnessing the civil war in Eritrea first-hand. On his return to Sweden in 1977, he worked for Tidningarnas Telegrambyra (TT), the largest Swedish news agency.  He was employed at TT for most of his adult life as a journalist, feature writer and graphics artist.

One of his many passions was science fiction. He was the co-editor of several fanzines, including Sfären, Fijagh! Additionally, he was president of the largest Swedish sci-fi fan club, Skandinavisk förening för science fiction (SFSF), from 1978 – 1979.

Until the posthumous publication of his books, Larsson was best known as a political activist and journalist. He never officially joined the Communist party in Sweden, but he was a strong advocate for the Kommunistiska Arbetareförbundet (Communist Workers League). He also edited the Swedish Trotskite journal Fjärde internationalen. He was devoted to fighting racism and totalitarianism, and became instrumental in documenting and exposing organizations advocating these and other far-right philosophies. He initiated the Swedish Expo foundation (a sister-society to the British Searchlight foundation) dedicated to countering nationalist, racist, anti-democracy and anti-Semitic groups.

Larsson was widely admired for his stance against extremist groups. He received many death threats over the years, and those close to him were seriously concerned for his life. When he died in 2004, many conspiracy theorists speculated that what was deemed a massive heart attack was, in fact, murder. (Given the fact that the man smoked over 60 cigarettes a day and led a relatively unhealthy lifestyle, however, the official cause of death seems likely.)

The Millennium Series
was nearly complete before Larsson showed the first two books to a publisher shortly before his death. Almost eight million copies of the books have been sold since the first was published in 2005, including 2.7 million copies in Sweden (almost one for every three Swedes in a country of nine million people). A total of 32 countries have bought the rights to the trilogy, and all three books have film adaptations in the works.

The initial entry in the series, Män som hatar kvinnor ("Men Who Hate Women"), was awarded the prestigious Glass Key award as the best Nordic crime novel in 2005. It was published in the UK in early 2008 as The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, and in the USA in September 2008. The movie version is due out in Nordic countries in 2009, starring Michael Nyqvist as Blomkvist and Noomi Noren (aka Noomi Rapace) as Lisbeth Salander.

The second book in the trilogy, Flickan som lekte med elden ("The Girl Who Played with Fire"), won the Swedish Crime Fiction Academy Award as the year's best Swedish crime novel of 2006. It was published in English in 2009. The final volume, Luftslottet som sprängdes ("The Aircastle that Blew Up"), was published in English in May 2010 as The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest

Stieg Larsson's website

This bio was last updated on 04/26/2010. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Stieg Larsson at BookBrowse
The Girl in the Spider's Web jacket The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest jacket The Girl Who Played with Fire jacket The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Stieg Larsson but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Diana Abu-Jaber

    Diana Abu-Jaber

    Diana Abu-Jaber is the author of several novels, including Arabian Jazz, Crescent, and Birds of Paradise. Crescent was awarded the 2004 PEN Center USA Award for Literary Fiction and the Before Columbus Foundation's American ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

    Try:
    Origin
    by Diana Abu-Jaber

  • Lisa Brackmann

    Lisa Brackmann

    Lisa Brackmann has worked as a motion picture executive and an issues researcher in a presidential campaign. She has lived and traveled extensively in China. Rock Paper Tiger is her first novel and was nominated for the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

    Try:
    Rock Paper Tiger
    by Lisa Brackmann

We recommend 11 similar authors

View all 11 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: All We Have Left
    All We Have Left
    by Wendy Mills
    September 11, 2001 is a date that few Americans will ever forget. It was on this day that our ...
  • Book Jacket: A Great Reckoning
    A Great Reckoning
    by Louise Penny
    Canadian author Louise Penny is back with her twelfth entry in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: Homegoing
    Homegoing
    by Yaa Gyasi
    It's all very well to challenge people to be the masters of their own destiny, but when you&#...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Who Said...

Idealism increases in direct proportion to ones distance from the problem.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay:
$400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.