Mnemosyne, the Mother of the Muses: Background information when reading Muse

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Muse

A novel

by Jonathan Galassi

Muse by Jonathan Galassi X
Muse by Jonathan Galassi
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jun 2015, 272 pages

    Paperback:
    Jun 2016, 272 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Darcie R.J. Abbene
Buy This Book

About this Book

Mnemosyne, the Mother of the Muses

This article relates to Muse

Print Review

The title of Jonathan Galassi's novel Muse, refers to the fictional poet that the story centers on, Ida Perkins, who provides inspiration to the literary world.

Mnemosyne A set of Ida's narrative poems is titled "Mnemosyne," whom Paul quickly recognizes as "the Titaness Mnemosyne, goddess of memory and mother of the Muses." The powerful goddess Mneymosyne (pronounced nee-mo-see-nee, source of the word mnemonic) is known as the creator of language and words, the goddess of time and memory, one of the three elder muses. The ability to remember was perhaps most important of all given that everything - all stories and lessons of life - had to be remembered before the advent of the written word.

The ancient Gnostics (in Ancient Greek the word means "learned") were a people who sought knowledge of the metaphysical and shunned the material world. Heavily reliant on myths, they referenced the importance of memory and Mnemosyne in one of their initiation rites. Prior to meeting with an oracle, the initiates drank from two pools. The first was the pool of Lethe, the goddess of forgetfulness, in order to forget all they had known before. The purpose of drinking from the second pool, the spring of Mnemosyne, was to be bestowed with the power of memory in order to recall all that they would be taught. The potential initiate would then be secluded and if deemed worthy, would receive the lessons. This was an important mechanism by which to transmit knowledge and the secrets of the world as, with the help of Mnemosyne, the Gnostics were subsequently able to share what they had learned from the oracle.

Mnemosyne was also the mother of the nine younger muses. The story goes that Zeus came to lay with Mnemosyne for nine nights and later when she gave birth, she labored for nine days giving birth to nine daughters who each had a special power relating to art and storytelling. These were: Calliope (muse of poetry), Clio (history), Erato (love and erotic poetry), Euterpe (music), Melponeme (tragedy), Polyhymnia (sacred hymns), Terpsichore (dancing), Thalia (comedy) and Urania (astronomy).

A pre-Raphaelite impression of Mnemosyne by Dante Gabriel Rossetti from Rossetti Archives

Filed under Places, Cultures & Identities

This "beyond the book article" relates to Muse. It originally ran in July 2015 and has been updated for the June 2016 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start discovering exceptional books!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Where Coyotes Howl
    Where Coyotes Howl
    by Sandra Dallas
    Where Coyotes Howl may appear to be a classically conventional historical novel — a wide-eyed ...
  • Book Jacket: After the Miracle
    After the Miracle
    by Max Wallace
    Many people have heard one particular story about Helen Keller—how the saintly teacher, Annie ...
  • Book Jacket: The Lost Wife
    The Lost Wife
    by Susanna Moore
    The Lost Wife is a hard-hitting novella based in part on a white settler named Sarah Wakefield's ...
  • Book Jacket
    Firekeeper's Daughter
    by Angeline Boulley
    Voted 2021 Best Young Adult Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    Angeline Boulley's young adult ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
by Gabrielle Zevin
"Delightful and absorbing ... expansive and entertaining."
New York Times

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Pieces of Blue
    by Holly Goldberg Sloan

    A hilarious and heartfelt novel for fans of Maria Semple and Emma Straub.

Win This Book
Win Girlfriend on Mars

30 Copies to Give Away!

A funny and poignant debut novel that skewers billionaire-funded space travel in a love story of interplanetary proportions.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S I F A R Day

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.