Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Muse by Jonathan Galassi

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Muse

A novel

by Jonathan Galassi

Muse by Jonathan Galassi X
Muse by Jonathan Galassi
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jun 2015, 272 pages

    Paperback:
    Jun 2016, 272 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Darcie R.J. Abbene
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Set in the publishing world, Muse might not be a classic love story, but carries enough variations on the theme to show just how complicated the emotion can be.

Galassi's novel, Muse is a story of poetry and also of love. The "muse" in question is Ida Perkins, a poet of national clout with quite a following. Notably, her enamored fans include publishing moguls Homer Stern and his business rival (and Ida's own cousin), Sterling Wainwright.

The story is written from the perspective of the quiet Paul Dukack, Sterling's friend and an employee at Homer's publishing house, Purcell and Stern. As it turns out, Ida is also Paul's passion — as a lonely young man, he once found solace in her profound work and continues to do so. When Paul finally meets Ida in person, she gives him a surprising and challenging task that will have an unexpected and subtle impact on his life.

Galassi paints a picture of a fast and intense literary world of publishing. The many names are at first difficult to wade through and it is hard to discern who the important characters are. And as the players rise up, the reader begins to wonder who the story really is about: Paul Dukack the young editor at Purcell and Stern? Homer Stern, the loud and ostentatious publisher? Sterling Wainwright who is quieter in style than Stern but no less self-involved? Or is it about Ida Perkins, the beloved muse herself, whose writing and character captivate with a fervent attraction?

The preface opens by pointing out that Muse is a love story, but Galassi also issues a warning: "We makes so much of love. We live for it, we ache for it, we convince ourselves that we'll die without it and make the search for it the focus of our lives. Yet love, my friends, is a terrible pain. Proceed with caution." At first glance, with none of the traditional love-story cues, Muse does not appear to be a classic example of the form. But the theme of love is omnipresent: Ida's poems detail her myriad trysts, including with both Wainwright and Homer. Paul's own path to love is a quiet search. Each character's pursuit of a satisfying love is a rough journey. This idea is underscored toward the end when Ida entrusts Paul with the responsibility of publishing her last and most powerful work which includes unexpected details about her love life. Love is indeed, as Galassi warns, "a terrible pain."

The story is also about the publishing barons jockeying against each other to sign on the best writers. Homer regards his authors as "living, breathing collectibles" coveting the rights to Ida Perkins' work above all, while Sterling, because of his familial connection, actually owns them. And both men strive to hold on to Paul's loyalties, Homer as his employer and Sterling as an informal mentor. Paul alone seems to operate free of this impulse to own. He is motivated by a desire to share Ida's work rather than profit from it.

Ultimately, Ida shows the reader that no one can fundamentally possess beauty. One can only just appreciate it and perhaps, if lucky, be a part of it. Ida informs the literary world to which she belongs, providing inspiration and drive to each of its characters. Her ability to become the voice for art and love will captivate readers just as strongly.

Reviewed by Darcie R.J. Abbene

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in July 2015, and has been updated for the July 2016 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Muse, try these:

  • Gutenberg's Apprentice jacket

    Gutenberg's Apprentice

    by Alix Christie

    Published 2015

    About this book

    An enthralling literary debut that evokes one of the most momentous events in history, the birth of printing in medieval Germany—a story of invention, intrigue, and betrayal.

  • Dark Aemilia jacket

    Dark Aemilia

    by Sally O'Reilly

    Published 2015

    About this book

    In rich, vivid detail, Sally O'Reilly breathes life into England's first female poet, a mysterious woman nearly forgotten by history. Full of passion and devilish schemes, Dark Aemilia is a tale worthy of the Bard.

We have 5 read-alikes for Muse, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Jonathan Galassi
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Demon of Unrest
    The Demon of Unrest
    by Erik Larson
    In the aftermath of the 1860 presidential election, the divided United States began to collapse as ...
  • Book Jacket: Daughters of Shandong
    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung
    Daughters of Shandong is the debut novel of Eve J. Chung, a human rights lawyer living in New York. ...
  • Book Jacket: Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    by Xochitl Gonzalez
    Brooklyn-based novelist Xochitl Gonzalez is an inspiring writer to follow. At forty, she decided to ...
  • Book Jacket: Icarus
    Icarus
    by K. Ancrum
    The titular protagonist of K. Ancrum's young adult novel Icarus lives a double life that mixes the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Familiar
by Leigh Bardugo
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author Leigh Bardugo comes a spellbinding novel set in the Spanish Golden Age.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.