Unusual Phobias: Background information when reading My Age of Anxiety

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

My Age of Anxiety

Fear, Hope, Dread, and the Search for Peace of Mind

by Scott Stossel

My Age of Anxiety by Scott Stossel X
My Age of Anxiety by Scott Stossel
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jan 2014, 416 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2015, 416 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Elena Spagnolie

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
Unusual Phobias

Print Review

Snow covered trees in GermanyIn My Age of Anxiety, Scott Stossel - journalist and editor of The Atlantic magazine - describes, in intimate detail, how stressful living with a phobia can be. According to the American Psychological Association, a phobia is a "persistent and irrational fear of a specific object, activity, or situation that is excessive and unreasonable, given the reality of the threat," and in Stossel's case, he suffers from at least ten, including emetophobia (fear of vomiting – there's an entire chapter on this), agoraphobia (fear of crowded spaces or enclosed public places), and even turophobia (fear of cheese). After a little research, I was interested to find out that turophobia is just one of many uncommon and surprising phobias that exist in the world:

  • Metrophobia (fear of poetry)- Though it is often unclear what causes (and could treat) a particular phobia, it sometimes begins with a traumatic experience in childhood. The fear of poetry could potentially go back to a child's first interaction with this literary form of expression. For example, the child may have been made to feel foolish or humiliated for not understanding it, or poetry might have been presented as outside the child's social status, which could feel like a major threat.
  • Yellow daffodils in Cornwall
  • Xanthophobia (fear of the color yellow) – Deriving from the Greek word "xanthous" meaning yellow and "phobos" meaning fear, this phobia can cause people to feel anxious around the simplest things like bananas, lemons, or daffodils. In its most severe cases, even the word "yellow" will cause a xanthophobe to feel uncomfortable.
  • Chionophobia (fear of snow) – Come late January/early February, it's easy to imagine that all people who live in cold climates are chionophobes. But whereas most people might groan and then get out the shovel, chionophobes tend to be filled with a sense of terror or panic at the first sign of snowflakes. They might experience nausea, cold sweats, or become preoccupied with their own mortality and refuse to leave the house.
  • Bronze statue of Eros
  • Somniphobia (fear of sleep) – Also known as "clinophobia" or "hypnophobia," this form of anxiety often affects people who experience night terrors or who want to avoid intense nightmares. Symptoms include excessive fatigue, both short-term and long-term memory loss, and a lowered immune system. Treatment – as with many phobias – is very difficult.
  • Phobophobia (fear of fear) – When FDR said "The only thing we have to fear is fear itself," he had no idea how spot on he was. Phobophobes have an abnormal fear of developing or showing symptoms of a phobia. It is often the case that people who suffer from multiple phobias have the ability to create new ones for themselves, however not all phobophobes have multiple phobias. Interestingly, Stossel describes a therapy session in which he works himself up to the point of introducing a new phobia in his life.


Image of daffodils in Cornwall taken by Mark Robinson
Image of snow in Germany by Andreas Tille
Bronze statue of Eros sleeping from Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Article by Elena Spagnolie

This article was originally published in February 2014, and has been updated for the February 2015 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.