Summer Sale! Save 20% today and get access to all our member benefits.

Scott Stossel biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Scott Stossel
Photo: Michael Lionstar

Scott Stossel

Scott Stossel Biography

Scott Stossel is the editor of The Atlantic and the author of Sarge: The Life and Times of Sargent Shriver and My Age of Anxiety. His articles and essays have appeared in The Atlantic, The New Yorker, The New Republic, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and many other publications. He lives with his family in Washington, D.C.



This bio was last updated on 02/08/2014. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

A Q&A with Scott Stossel, author of My Age of Anxiety: Fear, Hope, Dread and the Search for Peace of Mind

Q: Was there a particular event or moment that made you decide to write this book or have you been thinking for some time about writing a book about anxiety?

A: Both. The idea had been gestating for years, since anxiety was a topic that had interested me for a long time. But the particular moment was when, during the months leading up to the publication of my first book in 2004, I became overwhelmed by anxiety about the book tour the publisher had planned for me, which included a few live TV shows and some public-speaking events in front of rather large numbers of people. I was terrified - convinced I was destined for terrible humiliation. I was already medicated and in psychotherapy, but in desperation I sought additional help from Boston University's Center for Anxiety and Related Disorders. As I recall, the Center's website advertised that it could cure some patients of public speaking anxiety in just a few sessions of Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy. Perfect! I thought. That's just what I need! But the site also warned that four to six weeks might elapse before a new patient could get evaluated and then set up with a therapist for treatment. I didn't have that kind of time! So I wrote an e-mail to ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Scott Stossel at BookBrowse
My Age of Anxiety jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Scott Stossel but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • Sasha Abramsky

    Sasha Abramsky

    Sasha Abramsky was born in England in 1972, grew up in London, and studied politics, philosophy, and economics at Balliol College, Oxford. He got his B.A. in 1993 and moved to New York to study journalism at the Columbia ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    My Age of Anxiety

    Try:
    Jumping at Shadows
    by Sasha Abramsky

  • Susan Cain

    Susan Cain

    Susan Cain is a writer whose work on introversion and shyness has appeared in the New York Times, Time, O Magazine, and PsychologyToday.com. She has taught negotiation skills at corporations, law firms, and universities and ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    My Age of Anxiety

    Try:
    Quiet
    by Susan Cain

We recommend 11 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    by Briony Cameron
    Our titular heroine's story begins in Yáquimo, Santo Domingo. Jacquotte Delahaye is a young ...
  • Book Jacket: Another Word for Love
    Another Word for Love
    by Carvell Wallace
    "I write about beautiful things because I live in a country that has tried to kill me and every...
  • Book Jacket
    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson
    Michelle Collins Anderson's novel The Flower Sisters, based in part on a real tragedy that occurred ...
  • Book Jacket: Craft
    Craft
    by Ananda Lima
    You may have heard about books that are letters to God, but what about books that are letters to the...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Win This Book
Win The Bluestockings

The Bluestockings by Susannah Gibson

An illuminating group portrait of the eighteenth-century women who dared to imagine an active life for themselves in both mind and spirit.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.