Beyond the Book: Background information when reading Resistance

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Resistance

by Owen Sheers

Resistance by Owen Sheers
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2008, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2009, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lucia Silva

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

The British Resistance

During WWII, Winston Churchill initiated the British Resistance Organization, or Auxiliary Units, as preparation for the expected invasion of the British Isles by Nazi Germany. In Owen Sheers's alternative history, the Nazis succeed, and the insurgents mobilize at once. A highly secretive organization, the resistance primarily employed farmers and countrymen with an intimate knowledge of their locality who would be able to live off the land, isolated from a larger military force, staying behind to fight after occupation. While many were drawn from the Home Guard (local volunteers otherwise ineligible for military service, usually due to age) and operated under their guise, others were sworn to absolute secrecy, even from their wives and families. Thousands of men trained clandestinely on weekends in guerilla warfare, sabotage and spying, and were given caches of arms, hidden in underground bunkers in the hills. The Resistance Organization was comprised of three groups: the Fighting Patrols to carry out acts of sabotage, the Special Duties to gather intelligence, and the Royal Corps of Signals to maintain underground radio communication.

Owen Sheers first heard of the British Resistance while he was working for a builder in the Llanthony valley, in the Black Mountains that border Wales. Years later, he saw a television interview with George Vater, a former member of the resistance, and Sheers realized he had grown up with Vater's grandchildren in the little village of Llanddewi Rhydderch in Wales. At the end of the interview, Vater remembers that his unit was told "perhaps we would work for fourteen days, and that was our full lifetime, I presume." Haunted by that final statement, Sheers met with Vater and he revealed much of the background and details that would inspire and shape Resistance.

Interesting Links

Article by Lucia Silva

This article was originally published in March 2008, and has been updated for the February 2009 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...
  • Book Jacket
    News of the World
    by Paulette Jiles
    Paulette Jiles brings the landscape of late 19th century Texas to life in this novel long-listed for...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.