BookBrowse Reviews Resistance by Owen Sheers

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Resistance

by Owen Sheers

Resistance by Owen Sheers X
Resistance by Owen Sheers
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2008, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2009, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lucia Silva

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


An unexpectedly suspenseful meditation on the ways the schisms of war can break down when reduced to the human element

Powered by a giant "what if?" Resistance is an unexpectedly suspenseful meditation on the ways the schisms of war can break down when reduced to the human element, isolated from the larger machine. With finely detailed prose and compassionate narration, Owen Sheers shapes an unusual war novel, almost completely removed from violence and political struggles, yet no less terrifying.

When the women in a remote Welsh valley wake to find their men gone without a trace, and a handful of German soldiers arrive days later on a mysterious mission, the tiny farming community is thrown into a state of suspended animation as a brutal winter descends, forcing the women to form a tentative alliance with the soldiers in order to survive. Mysteries abound, as the fate of the disappeared Welsh men is unknown, and the purpose of the German soldiers is unclear. As the war wages on, all outsiders cease their intermittent forays into the cloistered valley, and even the mail stops and radio signals fade, sealing them off from the rest of the world and the war. As much a character as any of the women or soldiers, the Olchon valley (in the Black Mountains area of the Brecon Beacons) emerges as a beautiful and affecting backdrop for the human drama.

At the heart of the novel is Sarah Lewis, a young wife, not yet a mother, facing fear, anger, and deep sadness. Each evening she pens an account of the day to her missing husband, each day she imagines clues or signs in the scenery, and at night she dreams of him. Through her we experience the heart wrenching loneliness, the blur of one day into the next as she and the other women throw themselves into the hard labors of maintaining their farms without their husbands and sons. Bolstered by the dimming hope that her husband will return, and conflicted in her reluctant friendship with a German soldier, Sarah wavers between fatalistic despair and hardy determination.

Albrecht, the German patrol's commanding officer, struggles with the nebulous goals of his mission, his wavering support of the war, and his human desire to escape into the anonymous hills of the Olchon valley, away from the war and its violent aims. We see his countenance change, from his first imperious visit to Sarah's home and smirking threats, to his gradual softening as he ceases to believe in the trappings of his uniform and seeks to make amends and gain Sarah's trust. In Albrecht we see the painful partitioning of the brain and the soul, so necessary to fighting a war, as it breaks down, and he is moved to make decisions that affect the fate of the entire valley, women and soldiers both.

At times, Resistance seems like it was once a much longer novel. A few tangents feel irrelevant and out of place, and when the secret reason for the German's mission is revealed, it feels sudden and underdeveloped. Otherwise, Sheers's writing is seamless, moving the action with poetic prose and the pacing of a quiet thriller.

First Impressions
Read BookBrowse members' "First Impression" reviews of Resistance which is one of our highest rated books to date with 16 reviewers rating it an average 4.7 out of 5 stars.

Reviewed by Lucia Silva

This review was originally published in March 2008, and has been updated for the February 2009 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.