Excerpt from Time Stops For No Mouse by Michael Hoeye, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Time Stops For No Mouse

by Michael Hoeye

Time Stops For No Mouse
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2002, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2003, 256 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


First was a picture postcard showing the milking room at a cheese factory in Grebbenland. It was from his cousin Tannik who was there on his honeymoon. Hermux held the card up so Terfle could get a good look at it. "It's from Tannik and Vinnapy," he explained. "They're having a wonderful time. The cheese is superb. They hope I'm feeding you well. They are bringing you some special treats."

Next was a letter from his friend Nip Setchley who wanted Hermux to invest in Nip's newest idea, a trailer park resort that moved from place to place like a motel on wheels. "Never gets boring," Nip promised. Hermux had never known him to lack enthusiasm. And it did sound rather exciting. A new place everyday. But the same people. Adventurous but cozy at the same time.

"I'll have to give that some thought," said Hermux and turned his attention to a small blue envelope of thin tissue. A vaguely familiar scent wafted up to Hermux's sensitive nose as he tore it open. Flowers. Hundreds of bruised and tortured flowers seemed to explode in the air. And something sugary and rotten. The card inside was embossed with a bold TM.

"Tucka Mertslin!" he muttered.

Miss Tucka Mertslin
Chairwoman
Subcommittee for Hall Decoration
requests the pleasure of your company
on Monday, the twenty-third of March
at six o'clock
at her residence
to view drawings and plans for
new hallway décor.

"The twenty-third of March. That was today!" he admitted, embarrassed. "No wonder she was steamed. But when did she mail it?" He studied the postmark on the envelope. It was marked March 22.

"Yesterday. Not likely I'd get it in time to attend her meeting and be disruptive," he thought. "But then I doubt that Miss Mertslin actually wanted me there at all. And now that she thinks she's gotten me out of the picture, she can carry out her redecoration plans without any interference from me."

"Looks like it might be war, Terfle," he announced grimly. "The war of the wallpaper." And with that he ate a wedge of apple, two pieces of cheese, poured himself a cup of tea, and opened the new edition of the Weekly Squeak.

As usual the news was mixed. Good things had happened to bad people. Bad things had happened to good people. Several surprising new things had been discovered. Quite a few old things had been damaged. Trouble was brewing on one horizon. And peace had been reached on another. The short-term forecast was growth. The long-term forecast was shrinkage. The days were getting colder. But temperatures were rising in general. And then he saw her picture.

She was standing beside an airplane on a landing strip in some sort of jungle.

Copyright 2000 Michael Hoeye. All rights reserved.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.