Excerpt from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Fangirl

by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2013, 448 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2014, 300 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


"This is college," Wren persisted. "The whole point of college is meeting new people."

"The whole point of having a twin sister," Cath said, "is not having to worry about this sort of thing. Freaky strangers who steal your tampons and smell like salad dressing and take cell phone photos of you while you sleep…"

Wren sighed. "What are you even talking about? Why would anybody smell like salad dressing?"

"Like vinegar," Cath said. "Remember when we went on the freshman tour, and that one girl's room smelled like Italian dressing?"

"No."

"Well, it was gross."

"It's college," Wren said, exasperated, covering her face with her hands. "It's supposed to be an adventure."

"It's already an adventure." Cath crawled up next to her sister and pulled Wren's hands away from her face. "The whole prospect is already terrifying."

"We're supposed to meet new people," Wren repeated.

"I don't need new people."

"That just shows how much you need new people.…" Wren squeezed Cath's hands. "Cath, think about it. If we do this together, people will treat us like we're the same person. It'll be four years before anyone can even tell us apart."

"All they have to do is pay attention." Cath touched the scar on Wren's chin, just below her lip. (Sledding accident. They were nine, and Wren was on the front of the sled when it hit the tree. Cath had fallen off the back into the snow.)

"You know I'm right," Wren said.

Cath shook her head. "I don't."

"Cath…"

"Please don't make me do this alone."

"You're never alone," Wren said, sighing again. "That's the whole fucking point of having a twin sister."

*   *   *

"This is really nice," their dad said, looking around Pound 913 and setting a laundry basket full of shoes and books on Cath's mattress.

"It's not nice, Dad," Cath said, standing stiffly by the door. "It's like a hospital room, but smaller. And without a TV."

"You've got a great view of campus," he said.

Wren wandered over to the window. "My room faces a parking lot."

"How do you know?" Cath asked.

"Google Earth."

Wren couldn't wait for all this college stuff to start. She and her roommate—Courtney—had been talking for weeks. Courtney was from Omaha, too. The two of them had already met and gone shopping for dorm-room stuff together. Cath had tagged along and tried not to pout while they picked out posters and matching desk lamps.

Cath's dad came back from the window and put an arm around her shoulders. "It's gonna be okay," he said.

She nodded. "I know."

"Okay," he said, clapping. "Next stop, Schramm Hall. Second stop, pizza buffet. Third stop, my sad and empty nest."

"No pizza," Wren said. "Sorry, Dad. Courtney and I are going to the freshman barbecue tonight." She shot her eyes at Cath. "Cath should go, too."

"Yes pizza," Cath said defiantly.

Her dad smiled. "Your sister's right, Cath. You should go. Meet new people."

"All I'm going to do for the next nine months is meet new people. Today I choose pizza buffet."

Wren rolled her eyes.

"All right," their dad said, patting Cath on the shoulder. "Next stop, Schramm Hall. Ladies?" He opened the door.

Cath didn't move. "You can come back for me after you drop her off," she said, watching her sister. "I want to start unpacking."

Wren didn't argue, just stepped out into the hall. "I'll talk to you tomorrow," she said, not quite turning to look at Cath.

"Sure," Cath said.

*   *   *

It did feel good, unpacking. Putting sheets on the bed and setting her new, ridiculously expensive textbooks out on the shelves over her new desk.

Copyright © 2013 by Rainbow Rowell

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The World of Fanfiction

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.