The World of Fanfiction: Background information when reading Fangirl

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Fangirl

by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell X
Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2013, 448 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2014, 300 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl
Buy This Book

About this Book

The World of Fanfiction

This article relates to Fangirl

Print Review

In Fangirl, Cath's story is interspersed with snippets of her fan fiction (or "fanfic") starring characters who, in Cath's world, are as well known as Harry Potter is in ours. This hugely popular (primarily online) genre of amateur writing is inspired by existing fictional characters, settings, and themes.

Writers of fanfic are part of a fandom, a whole community built around mutual admiration—and often enthusiastic imitation—of a fictional world. The most popular topics for fanfic include the Harry Potter and Twilight series of novels, as well as the television shows Glee and Supernatural and several anime series. You can find fanfic on sites like Fanfiction.Net, which brings together thousands of fan-submitted stories in one place. The site has well over two million users and archives stories in thirty different languages. Some stories and authors become hugely popular, celebrities with their own eager fan base. The bestselling novel Fifty Shades of Grey actually started life as fanfic based on the Twilight series.

Harry Potter Fanfic has become more widely known – and certainly more readily disseminated – thanks to the Internet. The medium has made it easier for fanfic authors to share their work, for fans to become part of the dialogue, and for fandoms to eventually develop. While the Internet has facilitated fanfic's growth, writing that borrows characters, settings, situations, and even whole plot lines from existing fictional works has been around for a long time. Even if they weren't referenced as "fanfic," spinoffs of works by Jane Austen, Daniel Defoe, and Arthur Conan Doyle's work have all been around from almost the same time as the originals, and were distributed in print.

Cath writes fanfic in which two same-sex characters develop a romantic or sexual relationship – a plotline that did not exist in the original. This genre of fanfic, where same-sex characters are paired together in a departure from the parent story, is known as "slash fiction" or "slash fic." This fanfic subgenre also predates the Internet, going back to Star Trek-inspired Kirk/Spock stories from the 1960s.

Whether these fanfic pieces represent harmless homage or flagrant copyright violation is a matter open to debate. Some authors and creators embrace fanfic, while others have been known to send cease-and-desist letters to writers, especially when stories are sexually explicit in nature. But it seems clear, given the hundreds of new fanfic stories that are posted every day and the thousands of readers who embrace them, that this form of creative expression isn't going away any time soon.

Representative picture of Harry Potter series from imdb.com

Article by Norah Piehl

This "beyond the book article" relates to Fangirl. It first ran in the October 2, 2013 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.