BookBrowse Reviews Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Fangirl

by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell X
Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2013, 448 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2014, 300 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Faced with the daunting challenges of college, a teen girl must figure out how to meld her real and online personas into a complete and realistic whole.

Rainbow Rowell burst on the young adult literature scene in early 2013 with her novel Eleanor and Park, an unconventional romance about two misfit Omaha teens who meet on the school bus and fall in love. That book garnered a bunch of rave reviews and a sizeable following of fans, many of whom have been eagerly awaiting (understandably enough) the release of Rowell's second YA novel, Fangirl.

Like her debut, Fangirl is set in Rowell's home state of Nebraska. This time, however, the setting is primarily Lincoln, home to the state university. Cath is about to start her freshman year there, as is her identical sister Wren. Cath—who would always rather be squirreled away in her room instead of meeting new people—feels both terrified and betrayed when Wren admits that she doesn't want to room together. Wren, on the other hand, makes friends easily and loves the party scene. She wants to make dozens of new friends in college—leaving Cath feeing more alone than ever.

Cath's roommate, Reagan, can be abrasive at times, but thanks to a rotating roster of boyfriends, she's hardly ever in their room. Too scared of new experiences to even seek out the dining hall, Cath tries to subsist on protein bars and peanut butter in between avoiding Reagan and her overly friendly ex-boyfriend Levi.

The only thing Cath's looking forward to in college is her "Intro to Fiction Writing" course. After all, she is something of an expert at writing fiction, or, more precisely, fanfic. She's made a name for herself as "Magicath," the author of Carry On, Simon, a wildly successful online takeoff on the hugely popular Simon Snow series by Gemma T. Leslie (a thinly veiled version of Harry Potter). In Cath's world, Simon and his archrival Baz are not only roommates—they're also secretly in love with each other. But, as much as Cath has been anticipating the Fiction Writing course, and as much as she admires and wants to impress her professor, the Simon Snow characters are so vivid in her imagination that she finds it hard, if not impossible, to write stories not set in Simon's world.

Fangirl follows Cath's journey through her first year of college, as she gradually (and often reluctantly) forms friendships, grieves the evolving relationship with Wren, worries about their vulnerable empty-nester father, and even about her first genuine romantic relationships. As the year progresses, so does Cath's understanding of herself. All the time, however, the clock is ticking, as Cath needs to wrap up the plotlines in Carry On, Simon before the release of Gemma T. Leslie's final canonical installment.

Cath's struggles to balance her passion for writing (and, perhaps equally, for online validation of her writing and her self) with the academic and social demands of college are very realistic. The setting of Fangirl on a Midwestern college campus, among students with rural and middle-class backgrounds, is an unusual one in YA literature. Too often, the enforced independence that college imposes is depicted through boarding school settings instead, which not many readers might readily be able to relate to. Fangirl should prove a good incentive for other YA authors to take advantage of the more accessible college setting for their coming-of-age stories.

Cath is a character many readers can empathize with. These include not just those who, like her, feel like their most authentic selves reside online, but also anyone who has felt like an outsider when thrust into a new situation. Some might question what, in her admittedly complicated family and personal history, makes Cath so scared of intimacy - particularly physical intimacy. This nearly pathological fear is not entirely justified by her story.

More likely, however, they will accept this trait as part of her multifaceted personality and be eager to get to know and understand the whole Cath—as she gradually learns how to write, and live, her own stories.

Reviewed by Norah Piehl

This review is from the October 2, 2013 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The World of Fanfiction

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.