Results for General Fiction + Contemporary, set in California

Select your view:
  • After the Parade
    Lori Ostlund
    Paperback: 07/26/2016
     
    From Flannery O'Connor and Rona Jaffe Award winner Lori Ostlund, a deeply moving and beautiful debut ...
  • Quicksand
    Steve Toltz
    Paperback: 04/05/2016
     
    A daring, brilliant new novel from Man Booker Prize finalist Steve Toltz, for fans of Dave Eggers, Martin Amis...
  • A Doubter's Almanac
    Ethan Canin
    Hardcover: 02/16/2016
     
    In this mesmerizing novel, Ethan Canin, the New York Times bestselling author of America America and other ...
  • A Small Indiscretion: A Novel
    Jan Ellison
    Paperback: 02/09/2016
     
    With the emotional complexity of Everything I Never Told You and the psychological suspense of The Girl on the...
  • God Help the Child: A novel
    Toni Morrison
    Paperback: 01/26/2016
     
    Spare and unsparing, God Help the Child—the first novel by Toni Morrison to be set in our current moment&...
  • The Portable Veblen: A Novel
    Elizabeth McKenzie
    Hardcover: 01/19/2016
     
    An exuberant, one-of-a-kind novel about love and family, war and nature, new money and old values by a ...
  • The Killing Lessons
    Saul Black
    Hardcover: 09/22/2015
     
    In their isolated country house, a mother and her two children prepare to wait out a blinding snowstorm. Two ...

Full results are for members only - but you can cross-reference more than one theme by using the buttons in the right column. Explore the many benefits of membership here.

The reviewer of each book decides which categories it belongs in - but we're only human, mistakes happen. If you see a book that you think is in the wrong place, tell us!

Total books found: 52

Page 1 of 8
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Filter by Genre
Filter by Theme

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

BookBrowse Summer Giveaway

We're giving away
5 books every
week in July!