Results for General Fiction, set in California

Select your view:
  • Commonwealth
    Ann Patchett
    Hardcover: 09/13/2016
     
    The acclaimed, bestselling author - winner of the PEN/Faulkner Award and the Orange Prize - tells the ...
  • The Fortunes
    Peter Ho Davies
    Hardcover: 09/06/2016
     
    From the author of The Welsh Girl comes a groundbreaking, provocative new novel.
  • The Killing Lessons
    Saul Black
    Paperback: 08/30/2016
     
    In their isolated country house, a mother and her two children prepare to wait out a blinding snowstorm. Two ...
  • After the Parade
    Lori Ostlund
    Paperback: 07/26/2016
     
    From Flannery O'Connor and Rona Jaffe Award winner Lori Ostlund, a deeply moving and beautiful debut ...
  • This Must Be the Place: A novel
    Maggie O'Farrell
    Hardcover: 07/19/2016
     
    A dazzling novel from bestselling writer Maggie O'Farrell, winner of the Costa Novel Award—an ...
  • The Sympathizer
    Viet Thanh Nguyen
    Paperback: 04/12/2016
     
    Winner of 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction. A startling debut novel featuring one of the most remarkable ...
  • Quicksand
    Steve Toltz
    Paperback: 04/05/2016
     
    A daring, brilliant new novel from Man Booker Prize finalist Steve Toltz, for fans of Dave Eggers, Martin Amis...

Full results are for members only - but you can cross-reference more than one theme by using the buttons in the right column. Explore the many benefits of membership here.

The reviewer of each book decides which categories it belongs in - but we're only human, mistakes happen. If you see a book that you think is in the wrong place, tell us!

Total books found: 128

Page 1 of 19
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Filter by Genre
Filter by Theme
Filter by Time Period

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.