John Feinstein biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

John Feinstein

John Feinstein

John Feinstein Biography

John Feinstein is the author of 35 books, including the two best-selling sports books of all time: A Season on The Brink and A Good Walk Spoiled, both No. 1 New York Times bestsellers. Ten of his books have been mysteries written for kids. The first of these, Last Shot won The Edgar Allen Poe Award for mystery writing and was also a New York Times bestseller. His most recent non-fiction book, Where Nobody Knows Your Name was his 23rd New York Times bestseller. His 36th book, The Legends Club chronicles the rivalries and relationships among Mike Krzyzewski, Dean Smith and Jim Valvano.

In addition to his books, John also works for The Washington Post, The Golf Channel, Golf Digest, Sirius XM, CBS Sports Radio and Comcast Sportsnet. He has been inducted into The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame; The National Sportswriters and Sportscasters Hall of Fame; The U.S. Basketball Writer's Hall of Fame and the Greater D.C. Jewish Sports Hall of Fame.

He is a graduate of Duke University and lives in Potomac, Maryland with his wife Christine and has three children.

John Feinstein's website

This bio was last updated on 06/07/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by John Feinstein at BookBrowse
Tales from Q School jacket Vanishing Act jacket Last Dance jacket Next Man Up jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for John Feinstein but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Gregory G. Barton

    Gregory G. Barton

    Gregory G. Barton is a writer, a residential architect, and an avid golfer who was born and raised in Michigan. He currently lives with his wife and two children in Northern California. This is his first book. (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Majors

    Try:
    On the Fringe
    by Gregory G. Barton

  • Bill Murray

    Bill Murray

    Bill Murray has starred in over thirty movies, including Kingpin, Ed Wood, Scrooged, Groundhog Day, The Royal Tenenbaums, The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou, and Lost In Translation. Recipient of the New York Film ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Majors

    Try:
    Cinderella Story
    by Bill Murray

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Pachinko
    Pachinko
    by Min Jin Lee
    Pachinko has one of the best opening lines I've encountered in some time: "History has failed us, ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Summer Before the War
    by Helen Simonson
    Set on the cusp of World War I, The Summer Before the War exudes strength and spirit as a small town...
  • Book Jacket: Lincoln in the Bardo
    Lincoln in the Bardo
    by George Saunders
    George Saunders' Lincoln in the Bardo is a philosophy discourse brilliantly disguised as a ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Sellout
by Paul Beatty

The first book by an American author to win the prestigious Man Booker Prize.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    A Piece of the World
    by Christina Baker Kline

    A stunning novel of friendship, passion, and art from the #1 bestselling author of Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    I See You
    by Clare Mackintosh

    A dark and compelling thriller about an everyday woman trapped in the confines of her everyday world.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

Education is the period during which you are being instructed by somebody you do not know, about something you do ...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

K Your F C

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.