John Feinstein biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

John Feinstein

John Feinstein

John Feinstein Biography

John Feinstein is the author of 35 books, including the two best-selling sports books of all time: A Season on The Brink and A Good Walk Spoiled, both No. 1 New York Times bestsellers. Ten of his books have been mysteries written for kids. The first of these, Last Shot won The Edgar Allen Poe Award for mystery writing and was also a New York Times bestseller. His most recent non-fiction book, Where Nobody Knows Your Name was his 23rd New York Times bestseller. His 36th book, The Legends Club chronicles the rivalries and relationships among Mike Krzyzewski, Dean Smith and Jim Valvano.

In addition to his books, John also works for The Washington Post, The Golf Channel, Golf Digest, Sirius XM, CBS Sports Radio and Comcast Sportsnet. He has been inducted into The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame; The National Sportswriters and Sportscasters Hall of Fame; The U.S. Basketball Writer's Hall of Fame and the Greater D.C. Jewish Sports Hall of Fame.

He is a graduate of Duke University and lives in Potomac, Maryland with his wife Christine and has three children.

John Feinstein's website

This bio was last updated on 06/07/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by John Feinstein at BookBrowse
Tales from Q School jacket Vanishing Act jacket Last Dance jacket Next Man Up jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for John Feinstein but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Gregory G. Barton

    Gregory G. Barton

    Gregory G. Barton is a writer, a residential architect, and an avid golfer who was born and raised in Michigan. He currently lives with his wife and two children in Northern California. This is his first book. (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Majors

    Try:
    On the Fringe
    by Gregory G. Barton

  • Bill Murray

    Bill Murray

    Bill Murray has starred in over thirty movies, including Kingpin, Ed Wood, Scrooged, Groundhog Day, The Royal Tenenbaums, The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou, and Lost In Translation. Recipient of the New York Film ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Majors

    Try:
    Cinderella Story
    by Bill Murray

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Last Mrs. Parrish
    The Last Mrs. Parrish
    by Liv Constantine
    Amber has lived in poverty all her life, and she has had enough. Of course, wishing to have money ...
  • Book Jacket: Never Coming Back
    Never Coming Back
    by Alison McGhee
    18 out of 23 reviewers gave Alison McGhee's Never Coming Back a rating of 4 or 5, with an average ...
  • Book Jacket: Solar Bones
    Solar Bones
    by Mike McCormack
    Written in a poetic, line-breaking style, Mike McCormack's Solar Bones reads with a breathless ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
If the Creek Don't Rise by Leah Weiss

A debut novel bursting with heart, honesty, and homegrown grit.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Wonder Valley
    by Ivy Pochoda

    A visionary and masterful portrait of contemporary L.A. from the author of Visitation Street.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

All my major works have been written in prison...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E Dog H I D

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.