MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Summary and book reviews of On the Fringe by Gregory Barton

On the Fringe

and Other Uncommon Tales of Golf

by Gregory G. Barton

On the Fringe by Gregory G. Barton X
On the Fringe by Gregory G. Barton
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Jun 2001, 324 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

These extraordinary stories will please readers of short fiction, particularly if golf takes up a part of their lives.

From The Ryder Cup to the Bermuda Triangle. Fly with an RAF pilot as he buzzes a golf course that no one else can see, come across a magical golf club that can change one's entire life, have your bag carried by a clairvoyant caddie, play a round for the hand of a beautiful girl, find out what heaven's really like, ride the devil's own train, and get caught on a haunted links after dark. These are just a few of the adventures in this extraordinary collection of fifteen tales about golf, life, and the uncommon nature of both.

From The Girl With The Swing

The shimmering curtain of late summer heat maintained an uncertain distance as I raced along the narrow ribbon of pavement. I had long since tired of the mirage and its equally illusive accomplice, the maddeningly flat terrain that stretched on forever in all directions. Together they poked and prodded at my imagination until I began to wonder whether I was really moving at all or simply frozen to the spot as the unchanging world rushed past.

So when the billboard loomed out of the haze inviting me to Grab a cold one at Walt's General Store and Feed Emporium (just five easy miles east of the highway) I took the exit without the slightest regret for the detour. There was nowhere I needed to be, no one waiting anxiously for my return; just the end of another long and mildly fruitful sales trip through the farm belt.

The wind swept through the open window as I sped past fields of corn and soy and sunflower, leaving a long trail of dust to ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Golf Today
The author is indeed a master storyteller who loves the game of golf. These extraordinary experiences will please readers of short fiction, particularly if golf takes up a part of their lives. Thank God for imagination. Congratulations to the author on this one!

Egolf Weekly
Certain to entertain and surprise. Well worth the read.

Author Blurb Bob Spear, The Book Barn
I just finished On the Fringe, a book of short stories about golf. I read the first story and almost cried it was so touching. Every single tale was exquisitely crafted. The quality of these stories reminded me of the 1950s - the hay day of magazine short stories. Each one was a work of art. It was difficult to believe this author is a professional architect and not a creative writing instructor. Whether one is a golf aficionado or not, this book is well worth the read. Wonderful!!!

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked On the Fringe, try these:

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: American Dirt
    American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins
    Jeanine Cummins' American Dirt hasn't just been positively reviewed by BookBrowse First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: In the Dream House
    In the Dream House
    by Carmen Maria Machado
    In the introduction to In the Dream House, Carmen Maria Machado (a National Book Award finalist for ...
  • Book Jacket: Father of Lions
    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan
    Our readers have given high marks to Father of Lions by Louise Callaghan. Out of 21 reviewers, 18 ...
  • Book Jacket
    Girl, Woman, Other
    by Bernardine Evaristo
    As we meet Amma, a 50-something playwright finally experiencing mainstream success in Bernardine ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Lost Man
by Jane Harper

"Strong characters, riveting plot and an honest look at life in the Australian outback make it easy to give this 5-stars!"
—BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Small Days and Nights
    by Tishani Doshi

    A captivating and clear-eyed story of two sisters, set against the backdrop of modern India.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Adventurer's Son

Publishing Soon!
The Adventurer's Son

"A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out."
--Jon Krakauer

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I A Broke, D F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.