Andrew K. Stone biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Andrew K. Stone

Andrew K. Stone

Andrew K. Stone Biography

Andrew K. Stone was born in Rhode Island and studied Communications and English at Boston University. He worked for NBC Television in New York and sold a script to the hit comedy The Golden Girls while living in Los Angeles. Stone's first novel, All Flowers Die, established him as a bright new light in America's literary scene. He is married and lives in Cambridge, Massachusetts.



This bio was last updated on 10/17/2015. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Andrew Stone talks about his novel, Disappearing Into View, his writing style and how working in television helped him advance his writing skills. He also shares with readers about his battle with Tourette Syndrome, how he dealt with it, and how he turned it into a positive influence on his writing.

Disappearing Into View is your second novel. Your characters have been so realistic and your dialogue has been described as gritty and street-wise. Has this always been your writing style or something you have honed and perfected over the years?
I'm always working towards perfecting my ability to create rich, believable characters. For me to get the most enjoyment from a book - whether I'm reading or writing - the characters have to be real people. Often I find that "beautiful starlets" and "handsome leading men" can be too cartoonish, too one-dimensional. I'm more interested in the types of people we meet everyday. A story is much more engaging when told by a real person - for instance, the entire impact of the plot and theme will be much stronger if the narrator reminds you of the guy next door rather than Arnold Schwarzenegger. Schwarzenegger is superman and anything he does is automatically going to be fantastic. However, if the everyday guy down the street can do the same fantastic thing - tell the same story as Arnold Schwarzenegger -- the implications of the story become much more vivid. This type of realism will always bring the story to a higher level.

What would you say has been the ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Andrew K. Stone at BookBrowse
Disappearing Into View jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Andrew K. Stone but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Dave King

    Dave King

    Dave King holds a BFA in painting and film from Cooper Union and an MFA in writing from Columbia University. King's debut novel, The Ha-Ha, was named one of the best books of 2005 by The Christian Science Monitor&#... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Disappearing Into View

    Try:
    The Ha-Ha
    by Dave King

  • Janni Visman

    Janni Visman

    Janni Visman studied film at the London College of printing and mixed media at the Slade School of Fine Art. She is the author of two novels, Sex Education and Yellow. She lives in London. (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Disappearing Into View

    Try:
    Yellow
    by Janni Visman

We recommend 2 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: Killers of the Flower Moon
    Killers of the Flower Moon
    by David Grann
    Voted 2017 Best Nonfiction by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    The long, sorrowful list of injustices done ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dry
    The Dry
    by Jane Harper
    Voted 2017 Best Debut Novel by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    After receiving a letter from his childhood...
  • Book Jacket: Little Fires Everywhere
    Little Fires Everywhere
    by Celeste Ng
    Voted 2017 Best Fiction by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    Small towns, big drama. Acclaimed author ...
  • Book Jacket: La Belle Sauvage
    La Belle Sauvage
    by Philip Pullman
    Voted 2017 Best Young Adult Novel by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    I wasn't quite sure what to expect ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Second Mrs. Hockaday by Susan Rivers

At once a love story, a history lesson and a beautifully written tale of forgiveness.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Strangers in Budapest
    by Jessica Keener

    Strong characters and a riveting plot combine in this psychological thriller set in Budapest.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Autumn

Autumn by Ali Smith

One of the New York Times 10 Best Books of the Year, and a Man Booker Prize Finalist

Enter

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay: $400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.