Summary and book reviews of Disappearing Into View by Andrew Stone

Disappearing Into View

A Novel

by Andrew K. Stone

Disappearing Into View
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Nov 2001, 260 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Unable to come to terms with his father's horrifying secret, Colin decides to live 'visibly invisible' on the streets - but events force him to confront the past and his new found place in the world.

Colin "Birdy" Franklin believes he has removed himself from society. Unable to come to terms with his father's horrifying secret, Birdy has decided to live "visibly invisible" on the streets of Boston. But his existence changes dramatically when he meets Vince, an illicit entrepreneur who employs the homeless to supply restaurants with substandard food. Cajoled into working for Vince, Birdy begins to understand the complexities of a society he never really left. But when these complexities turn deadly, Birdy must confront the events that shaped his past in order to reconcile - and survive in - his newly found place in the world.

In his stunning second novel, Andrew K. Stone explores the subjectivity of good and evil in accordance to our status in society. As in his breakout novel All Flowers Die, Stone demonstrates his flair for balancing an engaging plot, rich thematic structure and finely developed characters to tell a story that's both moving and memorable.

Chapter One
The Legend of the Squab

When I was fifteen years old my home was blown up, but that's not the reason I'm homeless. After the explosion - and the subsequent aftershocks - that shattered my world, I made a conscious decision to remove myself from society. I don't regret that decision. My ten years on the street have been an invaluable experience and I've learned many lessons, most particularly how wrong I was. But I never would have realized this had I not run away. Before I left society, questions and doubts enshrouded me like a second skin. However, the transience of street life makes it difficult for too much moss to gather, and I suppose it was only natural that eventually I would have stumbled upon larger revelations. These came at a cost of pain and loss but the alternative would have been much worse. Remaining stagnant, my second skin would have solidified and, as a result of this emotional alchemy, I would have been sealed off to the point of ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

Stone's second novel combines an intriguing plot with well developed three dimensional characters. The plot moves along at a brisk pace and the characters will stay with the reader well after the book is finished. Overall, strongly recommended to those who like to be challenged by gritty, realistic fiction without excess violence.  

Media Reviews

Paula Bodah, Editor, Rhode Island Monthly

In Disappearing Into View, Stone illuminates the infinite human capacity for evil, compassion, and forgiveness at all levels of humanity.

The Compulsive Reader

A gripping tale...intense....

The Vinland Journal

Stone's writing is masterful.

BookCrossings.com

Extraordinary. The writing is superb.

The Anchorage Daily News

Disappearing Into View reads like a modern version of Dostoyevsky's Notes From the Underground - in reverse. A homeless man stalled in self-reflection meanders toward insight and redemption, helped by hookers, the homeless, fetishes and dubious trips into the subway.

Jane Crosier, Host of Literary Landscape, CKCU-FM, Ottawa

Disappearing Into View has the same innovative style and penetrating psychological insight that make Andrew K. Stone's first novel, All Flowers Die, a success. Stone's gritty, street-wise language speaks volumes, and his use of complex and realistically drawn characters gives the work a highly charged level of emotional tension.

Janice Harvey, Worcester Magazine

Andrew K. Stone possesses a marvelous ear for dialogue...and a talent for creating pure-hearted characters who will long remain in the reader's memory.

Doug Holder, The Cambridge Chronicle

...skillful...a work of fiction that has broad implications on the societal and personal level.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Disappearing Into View, try these:

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.