Mike Lupica biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Mike Lupica

Mike Lupica

Mike Lupica Biography

Mike Lupica (b. 1952) is one of the best-known and widely read sports columnists in the United States. He began his newspaper career with the New York Post in 1975, at the age of 23, covering the New York Knicks. In 1977, he became the youngest columnist ever at a New York paper with the Daily News, where he currently writes four syndicated columns a week. He has also worked for New York Newsday and The National. Since 1987, Lupica has written "The Sporting Life" column for Esquire magazine. His work has also appeared in Sport magazine, World Tennis, Tennis, Golf Digest, Playboy, Sports Illustrated and Parade. Lupica is also a regular on ESPN's Sunday morning show, "The Sports Reporters."

Lupica has written or co-written several nonfiction books: Reggie, the autobiography of Reggie Jackson (Villard, 1984); Parcells, an autobiography of former Giants and Patriots coach Bill Parcells (Bonus Books, 1987); Wait 'Till Next Year, co-written with novelist and screenwriter William Goldman (Bantam, 1988); Shooting From The Lip, a collection of columns (Bonus Books, 1988); Mad As Hell, exploring the divisive issues compromising professional sports (G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1996) and Summer of '98, a fresh look at the '98 season in baseball (G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1999). In addition, he has written several novels: Dead Air, Extra Credits, Limited Partner, Jump, Full Court Press and Bump and Run, a satire about the world of professional football (G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2000). Dead Air became the CBS television movie "Money, Power, Murder," for which Lupica also wrote the teleplay.

Mike Lupica lives in New Canaan, Connecticut with his wife, Taylor, their daughter and three sons.

Mike Lupica's website

This bio was last updated on 08/03/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Mike Lupica at BookBrowse
Miracle on 49th Street jacket Red Zone jacket Full Court Press jacket Bump and Run jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Mike Lupica but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Dave Barry

    Dave Barry

    Dave Barry was the author of a nationally syndicated humor column for The Miami Herald from 1983 to 2005. In 1988 he won the Pulitzer Prize for Commentary.

    Dave has also written numerous books of humor and parody, as well as... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Bump and Run

    Try:
    Big Trouble
    by Dave Barry

  • Gregory G. Barton

    Gregory G. Barton

    Gregory G. Barton is a writer, a residential architect, and an avid golfer who was born and raised in Michigan. He currently lives with his wife and two children in Northern California. This is his first book. (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Red Zone

    Try:
    On the Fringe
    by Gregory G. Barton

We recommend 11 similar authors

View all 11 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Future Home of the Living God
    Future Home of the Living God
    by Louise Erdrich
    Louise Erdrich began Future Home of the Living God in 2002, set it aside, and picked it up again in ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Mrs. Parrish
    The Last Mrs. Parrish
    by Liv Constantine
    Amber has lived in poverty all her life, and she has had enough. Of course, wishing to have money ...
  • Book Jacket: Never Coming Back
    Never Coming Back
    by Alison McGhee
    18 out of 23 reviewers gave Alison McGhee's Never Coming Back a rating of 4 or 5, with an average ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
If the Creek Don't Rise by Leah Weiss

A debut novel bursting with heart, honesty, and homegrown grit.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Strangers in Budapest
    by Jessica Keener

    Strong characters and a riveting plot combine in this psychological thriller set in Budapest.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

The thing that cowardice fears most is decision

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E Dog H I D

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.