Dave Barry biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Dave Barry
The Miami Herald

Dave Barry

Dave Barry Biography

Dave Barry was the author of a nationally syndicated humor column for The Miami Herald from 1983 to 2005. In 1988 he won the Pulitzer Prize for Commentary.

Dave has also written numerous books of humor and parody, as well as comedic novels. Two of his books were used as the basis for the CBS TV sitcom "Dave's World."

His works include: Non-Fiction: The Taming of the Screw (1983), Babies and Other Hazards of Sex: How to Make a Tiny Person in Only 9 Months With Tools You Probably Have Around the Home (1984), Stay Fit and Healthy Until You're Dead (1985), Claw Your Way to the Top: How to Become the Head of a Major Corporation in Roughly a Week (1986), Dave Barry Slept Here: A Sort of History of the United States (1989), Dave Barry Turns 40 (1990), Dave Barry's Gift Guide to End All Gift Guides (1994), Dave Barry Hits Below the Beltway: A Vicious and Unprovoked Attack on Our Most Cherished Political Institutions (2001), Dave Barry's Money Secrets (2006), Dave Barry on Dads (2007), I'll Mature When I'm Dead (2010), You Can Date Boys When You're Forty: Dave Barry on Parenting and Other Topics He Knows Very Little About (2014). Fiction: Big Trouble (1999), Peter and the Starcatchers (2004), Peter and the Shadow Thieves (2006), Cave of the Dark Wind (2007), The Bridge To Never Land (2011), Lunatics (2012), Insane City (2013).

Dave lives in Miami.

Link to Dave's website

This biography was last updated on 11/11/2014.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Dave Barry at BookBrowse
Lunatics jacket Dave Barry's History of the Millennium jacket The Shepherd, the Angel, and Walter the Christmas Miracle Dog jacket Big Trouble jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Dave Barry but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Jimmy Buffett

    Jimmy Buffett

    Singer/songwriter Jimmy Buffett has recorded over thirty albums, including the two hit singles "Margaritaville" and "Come Monday." He is also the author several bestselling books, including Tales from Margaritaville... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Dave Barry Turns 50

    Try:
    A Pirate Looks at Fifty
    by Jimmy Buffett

  • Tim Cockey

    Tim Cockey

    Tim Cockey grew up in and around Baltimore, Maryland. Educated in Ohio, London and Copenhagen, he later returned to Baltimore where he worked with a local newspaper in advertising sales and design while moonlighting under a ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Big Trouble

    Try:
    Murder in the Hearse Degree
    by Tim Cockey

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Marriage of Opposites
    by Alice Hoffman
    Alice Hoffman's latest work, The Marriage of Opposites, is a historical fiction novel focusing on ...
  • Book Jacket: Miss Jane
    Miss Jane
    by Brad Watson
    National Book Award Finalist Brad Watson returns with an intimate novel about one woman's journey to...
  • Book Jacket: Dinner with Edward
    Dinner with Edward
    by Isabel Vincent
    In late 2009 Isabel Vincent and her family were still newcomers to New York City. She and her ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Miss Jane
    by Brad Watson

    "Starred Review. Sensitive, beautifully precise prose. Highly recommended." - PW

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Falling
    by Jane Green

    "Readers who enjoy a love story with heart will adore this tale of homecoming and transformation." - LJ

    Read Member Reviews

Members review books pre-publication. Read their opinions in First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Girl Waits with Gun
by Amy Stewart

An enthralling novel based on the forgotten true adventures of one of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Summer Stunner
Summer Giveaway

Win 5 books, each week in July!

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

W M T N, W C F All

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

BookBrowse Summer Giveaway

We're giving away
5 books every
week in July!