Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Catriona McPherson biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Catriona McPherson
Photo: Neil McRoberts

Catriona McPherson

How to pronounce Catriona McPherson: pronounced Katrina

Catriona McPherson Biography

Catriona McPherson was born in Edinburgh, Scotland and lived there, in Ayrshire, in Dumfriesshire and in Galloway before moving to California in 2010. McPherson is the author of the Dandy Gilver historical mystery series, which was nominated for a Macavity Award in 2012.

Catriona McPherson's website

This bio was last updated on 10/05/2019. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Catriona McPherson answers questions about mottos and spelling to celebrate her new book, Quiet Neighbors.

Catriona McPherson is here today to answer questions about mottos and spelling to celebrate her new book, Quiet Neighbors. I had the honor of interviewing Catriona on-stage at Left Coast Crime back in February where she was the Toastmistress. It was so much fun, that we based this Q&A on our favorite questions from that day.

I've loved every Left Coast Crime I've ever attended, which is five now. But I've got to say - being the Toastmaster at Phoenix this year was an extra blast of joy. And being interviewed by Deb Lacy was the highlight of the weekend. So when Deb suggested that, for this guest blog, I could maybe revisit my favourite questions of my favourite bit of the best time I've ever had at a convention ...  Oh well, all right then,

Deb: So, Catriona, why's your name spelled so funny?

Catriona is the Scots spelling of English Catherine, Russian Katerina, Spanish Catalina, Irish Caitlin, Welsh Catrin. Don't pick on me! 

When I lived in Scotland and said my full name over the phone the only question I was ever asked was "Mick or Mack?". Now I sometimes have people argue with me about whether I'm getting it right. The funniest one was when a guy in LA said,...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Catriona McPherson at BookBrowse
A Step So Grave jacket Strangers at the Gate jacket Go to My Grave jacket House. Tree. Person. jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Catriona McPherson but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • Stephanie Butland

    Stephanie Butland

    Stephanie Butland lives with her family near the sea in the North East of England. She writes in a studio at the bottom of her garden, and when she's not writing, she trains people to think more creatively. For fun, she reads... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Quiet Neighbors

    Try:
    The Lost for Words Bookshop
    by Stephanie Butland

  • Matt Haig

    Matt Haig

    Matt Haig is the number one bestselling author of Reasons to Stay Alive, Notes on a Nervous Planet and six highly acclaimed novels for adults, including How to Stop Time, The Humans and The Radleys. His latest novel is The ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Quiet Neighbors

    Try:
    The Dead Fathers Club
    by Matt Haig

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Swans of Harlem
    The Swans of Harlem
    by Karen Valby
    Journalist Karen Valby's first book, The Swans of Harlem, introduces readers to the little-known ...
  • Book Jacket: The Sicilian Inheritance
    The Sicilian Inheritance
    by Jo Piazza
    Sara Marsala is going through a rough patch, to say the least. In the process of divorcing from her ...
  • Book Jacket: The Light Eaters
    The Light Eaters
    by Zoë Schlanger
    The human race is completely dependent on plants. Many people, however, give little thought to ...
  • Book Jacket: Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    by J Drew Lanham
    As a recipient of the MacArthur "Genius" Grant, and a Professor of Wildlife Ecology and Master ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Stolen Child
    by Ann Hood

    An unlikely duo ventures through France and Italy to solve the mystery of a child’s fate.

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.