Catriona McPherson Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Catriona McPherson
Photo: Neil McRoberts

Catriona McPherson

How to pronounce Catriona McPherson: pronounced Katrina

An interview with Catriona McPherson

Catriona McPherson answers questions about mottos and spelling to celebrate her new book, Quiet Neighbors.

Catriona McPherson is here today to answer questions about mottos and spelling to celebrate her new book, Quiet Neighbors. I had the honor of interviewing Catriona on-stage at Left Coast Crime back in February where she was the Toastmistress. It was so much fun, that we based this Q&A on our favorite questions from that day.

I've loved every Left Coast Crime I've ever attended, which is five now. But I've got to say - being the Toastmaster at Phoenix this year was an extra blast of joy. And being interviewed by Deb Lacy was the highlight of the weekend. So when Deb suggested that, for this guest blog, I could maybe revisit my favourite questions of my favourite bit of the best time I've ever had at a convention ...  Oh well, all right then,

Deb: So, Catriona, why's your name spelled so funny?

Catriona is the Scots spelling of English Catherine, Russian Katerina, Spanish Catalina, Irish Caitlin, Welsh Catrin. Don't pick on me! 

When I lived in Scotland and said my full name over the phone the only question I was ever asked was "Mick or Mack?". Now I sometimes have people argue with me about whether I'm getting it right. The funniest one was when a guy in LA said, quite triumphantly: "But what about Robert Louis Stevenson's Catriona ? That's pronounced Kat-tree-OWN-a!" What could I say? - "Maybe in LA it is. Not in Edinburgh where I – and Robert Louis Stevenson – were both born." Life's too short. And, if I'm honest, I don't mind how anyone pronounces my name. You should have heard my first attempt at Ximana.

Deb: Do you have a writing motto?

Just before our Phoenix interview I was asked this in a Q&A at a different event and I didn't have an answer. So I said to Deb to ask me and I made a mental note to think about it. Then, of course, I forgot and on the day I once again didn't have an answer. And here we are for a third time. So I'm going to turn the question a bit and ask "Why don't I have a writing motto?"

The answer? My oldest friend, Catherine (never gets asked how to pronounce it) Lepreux (not so lucky) is an interior designer. Her stuff is gorgeous. When I'm stressed by deadlines, or she's stressed by orders, we say to each other: "It's curtains and stories. It's not clean water, or polio vaccines, or a burning building. It's stories and curtains. No one will die."

This isn't to say I don't think my work matters. I believe stories do matter and so does beauty. (Really – they're great curtains.) But my mottoes are all for life in general. Love is the answer, whatever the question. And We're monkeys, not tigers. And Cut to the but, because everything before the but is bull.

Deb: Tell me about the bookshop.

Oh yes! I've got a book coming out. Quiet Neighbors is set in a fictitious bookshop in a real town full of them. Wigtown in south-west Scotland is the national booktown and hosts a literary festival every September.  Just about where Sean and Jessica's real shop sits, I've squeezed in an imaginary establishment run by an imaginary bookseller, filled it with everything I love, and made it totally disorganised and very dirty so that Jude, my cataloguing-librarian protagonist, gets all the fun of setting it to rights. 

I don't think I could have enjoyed myself anymore unless I had actually been there with a bucket of soapy water and Spontex cloth, and my soft pencil for marking prices inside the back covers. The plot of this book was more troublesome than usual and I shed a tear or two before I got it to work out, but the setting – Lowland Glen Books, the equally dishevelled Jamaica House where the bookseller lives, the natty Kirk Cottage (pictured on the jacket) where Jude finds a home ... that was all bliss. I hope everyone who visits is happy they came by.

This interview first appeared on Mystery Playground and is reproduced with permission. Click to read the interview in its original location including photos

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Catriona McPherson at BookBrowse
A Step So Grave jacket Strangers at the Gate jacket Go to My Grave jacket House. Tree. Person. jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Catriona McPherson but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Stephanie Butland

    Stephanie Butland

    Stephanie Butland lives with her family near the sea in the North East of England. She writes in a studio at the bottom of her garden, and when she's not writing, she trains people to think more creatively. For fun, she reads... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Quiet Neighbors

    Try:
    The Lost for Words Bookshop
    by Stephanie Butland

  • Matt Haig

    Matt Haig

    In the author's own words:

    I am a writer. The stuff I've written includes novels, screenplays, children's novels and journalism. My novels have now been translated in 29 languages.

    My first novel,&#... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Quiet Neighbors

    Try:
    The Dead Fathers Club
    by Matt Haig

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Yonder
    Yonder
    by Jabari Asim
    The captivating historical novel Yonder turns an intimate lens towards the tragedy and survivorship ...
  • Book Jacket: Churchill's Shadow
    Churchill's Shadow
    by Geoffrey Wheatcroft
    Another book about Winston Churchill? Even with the astronomical number of titles written about the ...
  • Book Jacket: 1000 Years of Joys and Sorrows
    1000 Years of Joys and Sorrows
    by Ai Weiwei
    Ai Weiwei is such an influential and innovative artist and activist that a memoir focused purely on ...
  • Book Jacket: Honor
    Honor
    by Thrity Umrigar
    First Impressions readers enjoyed being transported to India via Thrity Umrigar's novel Honor, with ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
My Broken Language
by Quiara Alegría Hudes
A Pulitzer Prize–winning playwright tells her lyrical coming of age story in a sprawling Puerto Rican family.

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Fields
    by Erin Young

    A dynamite debut—crime fiction at its very finest.

  • Book Jacket

    The Paris Bookseller
    by Kerri Maher

    How a humble bookseller fought incredible odds to bring one of the 20th century's most important books to the world.

Who Said...

Wisdom is the reward you get for a lifetime of listening when you'd rather have been talking

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A P O B Y Houses

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.