Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of The Lost for Words Bookshop by Stephanie Butland

The Lost for Words Bookshop

by Stephanie Butland

The Lost for Words Bookshop by Stephanie Butland X
The Lost for Words Bookshop by Stephanie Butland
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Jun 2018, 368 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Davida Chazan
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

The Lost for Words Bookshop by Stephanie Butland is a compelling, irresistible, and heart-rending novel, perfect for all book lovers.

Loveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look carefully, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are some things Loveday will never, ever show you.

Into her hiding place - the bookstore where she works - come a poet, a lover, and three suspicious deliveries.

Someone has found out about her mysterious past. Will Loveday survive her own heartbreaking secrets?

POETRY

2016
Unlooked-for

A book is a match in the smoking second between strike and flame.

Archie says books are our best lovers and our most provoking friends. He's right, but I'm right, too. Books can really hurt you.

I thought I knew that, the day I picked up the Brian Patten. It turned out that I still had a lot to learn.

I usually get off my bike and wheel it on the last bit of my ride to work. Once you pass the bus stop, the cobbled road narrows and so does the pavement in this part of York, so it's a lot less hassle that way. That February morning, I was navigating around some it's-my-buggy-and-I'll-stop-if-I-want-to woman with her front wheels on the road and her back wheels on the pavement, when I saw the book.

It was lying on the ground next to a bin, as though someone had tried to throw it away, but didn't even care enough to pause to take proper aim. Anyway, I stopped. Of course. Who wouldn't rescue a book? The buggy-woman tutted, ...

Please be aware that this discussion guide will contain spoilers!
  1. How important are books to Loveday? Does she have to work in a bookshop, or would another kind of shop serve her just as well?
  2. If you were going to have a line from a book tattooed on your skin, which line would you choose?
  3. Why does Loveday choose poetry to get her message across?
  4. Do you have any sympathy for Rob?
  5. What does this book tell us about mothers and daughters?
  6. Loveday is not a fan of people in general, and men in particular. Is she justified in this?
  7. How important are the settings of this novel?
  8. Loveday collects things—books, shells, tattoos. Why does she do this? How can collections help us to make sense of our lives?
  9. Can you pinpoint the moment that Loveday's life goes wrong?
  10. Who would play Archie in a ...
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

This is one of those novels that ticks a whole lot of boxes for me, especially the fact that it takes place in a bookshop. Seriously, what book reviewer worth their salt can resist a novel with that word in the title? Another one of those ticked boxes is the mystery behind who is sending Loveday all those books. I love a good mystery, especially if it's one that doesn't involve too much violence. Admittedly, author Stephanie Butland does include some of that here, particularly the way Loveday's father dies, but there's nothing overly visceral or graphic. Another box? That the action takes place in York, an historic walled city in northern England that I've been to several times and totally adore...continued

Full Review (580 words)

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by Davida Chazan).

Media Reviews

Booklist
Readers who want to get lost in a world of literature, love, and companionship in a story about breaking out of the past to create a new life will fall in love.

Kirkus Reviews
A tale full of romance and violence demanding readers not judge a book by its cover.

Library Journal
Strong characterization and a sarcastic, relatable first-person perspective carry a tale that is slow to start but explosive in the end. Lovers of literature will enjoy this mix of contemporary women's fiction and mystery.

Publishers Weekly
Rich characterizations, a vibrant bookstore setting, and several poignant Wednesday poetry nights will have readers hoping for a sequel.

Author Blurb Linda Green, bestselling author of While My Eyes Were Closed
Burns fiercely with love and hurt. A rare and beautiful novel.

Author Blurb Matthew Sullivan author of Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore
In The Lost for Words Bookshop, Stephanie Butland has created a bibliophile's delight. Witty and irreverent, funny and sad, this is a charming tribute to stories on the page and in our lives - and the powers they can hold over us.

Reader Reviews

Elizabeth@Silver's Reviews

Elizabeth @Silver's Reviews - A Lovely, Bookish Read
Loveday Cardew works in a bookshop owned by Archie. Working in a bookshop is perfect for Loveday because she is a shy almost introverted person through no fault of her own. THE LOST FOR WORDS BOOKSHOP is a lovely read and will make you jealous ...   Read More
Djcminor

An Uplifting Read
I have been reading articles about Up Lit and books that fall into that category of uplifting, but not sugary sweet. The Lost for Words Bookshop fits into that mold. First, as a reviewer on Book Browse notes, what's not to love about a story set in a...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

Performance Poetry and Slams

Poetry Slam LogoEarly in the novel, The Lost For Words Bookshop, the main character attends a weekly poetry competition night. This made me immediately think of "poetry slams" and wonder about their origins. I easily found connections to ancient traditions dating back to times of low literacy that existed long before the age of the printing press. Obviously, the great Greek and Roman traditions of theater also included performing poetry and many of Shakespeare's plays are essentially epic poems, written in iambic pentameter. These early instances of reciting poetry in a formal setting has lasted to this day, with poets reading their works at public events.

Regarding open mic evenings and performing poetry (as opposed to just reciting it), I had no...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Lost for Words Bookshop, try these:

  • The Last Chance Library jacket

    The Last Chance Library

    by Freya Sampson

    Published 2021

    About this book

    More by this author

    June Jones emerges from her shell to fight for her beloved local library, and through the efforts and support of an eclectic group of library patrons, she discovers life-changing friendships along the way.

  • Eight Perfect Murders jacket

    Eight Perfect Murders

    by Peter Swanson

    Published 2021

    About this book

    More by this author

    From the hugely talented author of Before She Knew Him comes a chilling tale of psychological suspense and an homage to the thriller genre tailor-made for fans: the story of a bookseller who finds himself at the center of an FBI investigation because a very clever killer has started using his list of fiction's most ingenious murders.

We have 6 read-alikes for The Lost for Words Bookshop, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Song of the Six Realms
    Song of the Six Realms
    by Judy I. Lin
    Xue'er has no place in the kingdom of Qi or any of the Six Realms. Her name means "Solitary Snow" ...
  • Book Jacket: The Demon of Unrest
    The Demon of Unrest
    by Erik Larson
    In the aftermath of the 1860 presidential election, the divided United States began to collapse as ...
  • Book Jacket: Daughters of Shandong
    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung
    Daughters of Shandong is the debut novel of Eve J. Chung, a human rights lawyer living in New York. ...
  • Book Jacket: Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    by Xochitl Gonzalez
    Brooklyn-based novelist Xochitl Gonzalez is an inspiring writer to follow. At forty, she decided to ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Romantic Comedy
by Curtis Sittenfeld
A comedy writer's stance on love shifts when a pop star challenges her assumptions in this witty and touching novel.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.