BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

Andrew Weil, M.D. Biography, Books, and Similar Authors

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Andrew Weil, M.D.

Andrew Weil, M.D.

How to pronounce Andrew Weil, M.D.: while

Andrew Weil, M.D. Biography

Andrew Weil, M.D., a graduate of Harvard College and Harvard Medical School, is Clinical Professor of Medicine at the University of Arizona and director of the Program in Integrative Medicine at that institution. He is also the founder of the Foundation for Integrative Medicine in Tucson, Arizona.

Dr. Weil's books have sold more than 10 million copies world-wide, and include Healthy Aging, Spontaneous Healing and Eight Weeks to Optimum Health.

Andrew Weil, M.D.'s website

This bio was last updated on 10/17/2015. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Andrew Weil discusses The Healthy Kitchen, what makes it different from his past works, and his thoughts about the worst types of food.

What makes The Healthy Kitchen different from your past works?

Weil: Well, first of all, it's a cookbook. And it is unique among cookbooks in that it contains a great deal of factual information about human nutrition. We've tried to emphasize that making knowledgeable food choices is central to creating a lifestyle that will maximize health, healing, and longevity. Our recipes allow readers to make easy dishes that will contribute to this lifestyle and will taste delicious. Both Rosie and I love to eat, and love to cook, and we've worked hard in this book to drive home the message that eating for health and eating for pleasure are not incompatible.

Daley: Absolutely. The crux of our collaboration is that eating should be about fulfillment, not denial. Eating is about fulfilling your body's metabolic and nutritional needs, but it's also about enjoying the tastes, textures, colors, and smells of good food. It's great for me to have someone like Andy as a partner, and all of us who are concerned with health and nutrition are lucky to have him as a voice of reason and encouragement.

How did the the book come about?

Weil: Over the years, many people have suggested that I write a ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Andrew Weil, M.D. at BookBrowse
Healthy Aging jacket The Healthy Kitchen jacket Eating Well For Optimum Health jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Andrew Weil, M.D. but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

We recommend 9 similar authors

View all 9 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Bury Your Gays
    Bury Your Gays
    by Chuck Tingle
    Chuck Tingle, for those who don't know, is the pseudonym of an eccentric writer best known for his ...
  • Book Jacket: Blue Ruin
    Blue Ruin
    by Hari Kunzru
    Like Red Pill and White Tears, the first two novels in Hari Kunzru's loosely connected Three-...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman and a Thief
    A Gentleman and a Thief
    by Dean Jobb
    In the Roaring Twenties—an era known for its flash and glamour as well as its gangsters and ...
  • Book Jacket: Early Sobrieties
    Early Sobrieties
    by Michael Deagler
    Dennis Monk is sober now, and he expects some applause. Or at least some recognition that he's ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Lady Tan's Circle of Women
by Lisa See
Lisa See's latest historical novel, inspired by the true story of a woman physician from 15th-century China.
Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Win This Book
Win Smothermoss

Smothermoss by Alisa Alering

A haunting, imaginative, and twisting tale of two sisters and the menacing, unexplained forces that threaten them and their rural mountain community.

Enter

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.