Summary and book reviews of The Healthy Kitchen by Andrew Weil, M.D.

The Healthy Kitchen

Recipes For A Better Body, Life, And Spirit

by Andrew Weil, M.D., Rosie Daley

The Healthy Kitchen by Andrew Weil, M.D., Rosie Daley X
The Healthy Kitchen by Andrew Weil, M.D., Rosie Daley
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Apr 2002, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2003, 384 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

An inspiring, easy-to-use cookbook - not a diet book. It is a lively guide to healthy cooking, day-by-day, packed with essential information and, above all, filled with enticing food.

Two of America's most popular authorities on healthy eating and cooking join forces in this inspiring, easy-to-use cookbook. This is not a diet book. It is a lively guide to healthy cooking, day-by-day, packed with essential information and, above all, filled with enticing food.

Andrew Weil, M.D.—author of the best-selling Eating Well for Optimum Health—brings to this perfect collaboration a comprehensive philosophy of nutrition grounded in science. Rosie Daley—acclaimed for her best-seller, In the Kitchen with Rosie—brings to it her innovative and highly flavorful spa cuisine.

The recipes are eclectic, drawing from the healthy and delicious cooking of the Middle East, the Mediterranean, and Asia, among other cuisines. For starters, you might try Grilled Satay or a Miso Pâté; for soup, often a meal in itself, a hearty Mixed-Bean Minestrone Stew or a Roasted Winter Squash and Apple Soup with Cilantro Walnut Pesto; a special entrée could be the Savory Roasted Cornish Hens with Roasted Garlic or Baked Spicy Tofu with Bean Thread Noodles, Corn, and Mango; for a simple supper, Turkey Burgers or Portobello Burgers; and for the occasional indulgence, a dessert of Almond Fruit Tart or Peach and Blueberry Cobbler.

Andy and Rosie do not always agree. When Rosie calls for chicken, Andy offers a tofu alternative; she likes the flavor of coconut milk, whereas he prefers ground nut milk; when she makes a pastry with butter, he suggests using Spectrum Spread. There are no hard-and-fast rules.

Lifelong health begins in the kitchen, so this is a lifestyle book as well as a cookbook. In it you will learn from Dr. Weil:

  • how to make use of nutritional information in everyday cooking
  • what is organic . . . and how to buy organic foods
  • the importance of reading labels and what to look for
  • sensible advice about eggs, milk, cheese, salt, spicy foods, wine, coffee
  • the facts about sugar and artificial sweeteners

    . . . and from Rosie:
  • how to get kids involved—from skinning almonds to layering lasagna
  • ways to have fun in the kitchen—creating scallion firecrackers and radish rosettes
  • low-fat and nondairy alternatives for those with special concerns

smart menu planning—letting the seasons be your guide

. . . and lots more.

This revolutionary book will change forever the way you cook for yourself and your family.

With 58 photographs in full color.

Pineapple Almond Shake

The almonds in this invigorating shake make it a terrific source of protein, and blanching your own almonds is a great kitchen activity for kids.

1/4 cup blanched almonds
1 cup roughly chopped fresh pineapple
1/2 cup ice, crushed or cubes
1/2 teaspoon pure maple syrup
1/4 cup rice milk or soy milk
1/2 cup pineapple juice

Grind the almonds in a blender to a fine powder, as for making Andy's nut milk (pages 34–5). Add all the ingredients and blend until smooth. Pour into 3 large drinking glasses. (If you want to make more, repeat the recipes. Most blenders will accommodate only enough for 3.)

Serves 3

Per serving:
Calories 96.7
Fat 5.2 g
Saturated fat 0.5 g
(45.5% of calories from fat)
Protein 2.5 g
Carbohydrate 11.6 g
Cholesterol 0 mg
Fiber 1.3 g


Greek Salad with Mild Red-Chili Dressing

I love this salad because of all the prominent tastes in the dressing. Here, the dressing is tossed with fresh spinach leaves and topped...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Barnes & Noble
... two authorities on healthy living and cooking offer their expertise in a lively and engaging collaboration filled with 135 innovative and enticing recipes while delivering the latest cutting-edge information on nutrition. Under their direction, healthy food and wonderful food can be one and the same.

Publishers Weekly
What might at first seem a jumble of nutrition facts and recipes turns out to be a stimulating invitation to healthy, pleasurable eating.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

More books by Andrew Weil, M.D.

If you liked The Healthy Kitchen, try these:

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...

  • Book Jacket: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    A loyal animal companion, treks through gorgeous but forbidding wilderness, glimpses of larger ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.

 



© BookBrowse LLC 1997-2019. All rights reserved. Information at BookBrowse.com is published with the permission of the copyright holder or their agent.
It is forbidden to copy anything for publication elsewhere without written permission from the copyright holder.