Summary and book reviews of Eating Well For Optimum Health by Andrew Weil, M.D.

Eating Well For Optimum Health

The Essential Guide to Diet, Health and Nutrition

by Andrew Weil, M.D.

Eating Well For Optimum Health by Andrew Weil, M.D. X
Eating Well For Optimum Health by Andrew Weil, M.D.
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2000, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2001, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

A comprehensive and reassuring book about food, diet, and nutrition.

From one of our most trusted authorities on health and alternative health care, a comprehensive and reassuring book about food, diet, and nutrition.

Building on the scientific and philosophical underpinnings of his enormous bestseller Spontaneous Healing, the body's capacity to heal itself, and presenting the kind of practical information that informed his 8 Weeks to Optimum Health, Dr. Weil now provides us with a program for improving our well-being by making informed choices about how and what we eat. He explains the safest and most effective ways to lose weight; how diet can affect energy and sleep; how foods can exacerbate or minimize specific physical problems; how much fat to include in our diet; what nutrients are in which foods, and much, much more. He makes clear that an optimal diet will both supply the basic needs of the body and fortify the body's defenses and mechanisms of healing. And he provides easy-to-prepare recipes in which the food is as sensually satisfying as it is beneficial.

Eating Well for Optimum Health stands to change - for the better and the healthier - our most fundamental ideas about eating.

Introduction

Throughout this book I have made references to "the optimum diet."

Here I want to summarize its characteristics. The optimum diet should:

  • supply all of your needs for calories, macronutrients, and micronutrients
  • support general health throughout life and maximize longevity
  • provide the pleasure you expect from eating
  • promote social interaction and reinforce your personal and cultural identity

General Characteristics of the Optimum Diet

  • Variety. Covering all nutritional bases and minimizing the intake of any harmful elements in foods are important.
  • Freshness. The higher the percentage of fresh foods in the diet the better.
  • Unprocessed. The lower the percentage of processed foods in the diet the better.
  • Abundant in fruits and vegetables. The more fruits and vegetables you eat, the more protective phytochemicals you take in.


Calories
Depending on gender, body size, and activity level, most adults need to consume between 2,000 and 3,000 ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Now considered one of holistic medicine's most authoritative voices, Weil provides a common-sense approach to healthy eating. While much of this information can be found in other volumes, Weil illuminates the often confusing and conflicting ideas circulating about good nutrition....Despite Weil's emphasis on a diet of fresh fruits and vegetables, unprocessed foods and much less meat and dairy products than most Americans are used to, readers will notice a profoundly realistic observation of what changes they can readily incorporate into their busy lives. And they will be heartened to learn that they can eat nutritious foods and still get much pleasure from them.

Booklist
The short chapters outline the "worst" and "best" diets "in the world," mull over weight-loss dieting, advise on grocery shopping and dining out, and encourage personal cooking. Clarity, pertinence, and reasonableness again characterize Weil's writing, and a hefty clutch of recipes concludes.

Kirkus Reviews
From a familiar, reputable--if sometimes offbeat--source, a worthwhile discussion of how to formulate a healthy approach to eating. Weil doesn't look for easy answers, or absolute rules for readers. Instead, he begins by explaining the seven basic propositions of his own nutritional philosophy....Entertaining, thoughtful, and educational.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

More books by Andrew Weil, M.D.

If you liked Eating Well For Optimum Health, try these:

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Feast Your Eyes
    Feast Your Eyes
    by Myla Goldberg
    Myla Goldberg's latest novel, Feast Your Eyes, is ostensibly about the works of fictional ...
  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.