Announcing our Top 20 Books of 2022

Thomas J. Stanley biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Thomas J. Stanley

Thomas J. Stanley

Thomas J. Stanley Biography

Thomas J. Stanley was the researcher, advisor, and author of several highly regarded, award winning books on America's wealthy population including The Millionaire Next Door and The Millionaire Mind. These books spent more than 170 weeks combined on the New York Times' Best Sellers list. His Millionaire Women Next Door was selected as a finalist for the business book of the year by the Independent Publishers Association and was on several business best sellers lists. Dr. Stanley's first three books, Marketing to the Affluent, Selling to the Affluent, and Networking with the Affluent and Their Advisors, were all designated as outstanding business books. In total, more than three million copies of Dr. Stanley's books have been sold worldwide.

Dr. Stanley has authored more than 40 published articles which deal with the affluent in America. His most significant, ground breaking articles include: "America's Affluent," American Demographics; "How to Live Like a Millionaire," Reader's Digest; and "The Doctor who Manages his Own Investments Has a Fool for a Client," Medical Economics.

Dr. Stanley has also published numerous articles on the topic of marketing professional services to the affluent, including: "Ways to Add Value for Clients," Journal of Accountancy; "How to Network with Affluent Client Prospects," Marketing for Lawyers; "Marketing Trust Services to the Affluent," Trust and Estates; and "Investment Management and the Affluent Customer," The Bankers Magazine.

Dr. Stanley has appeared as a featured guest numerous times on The Today Show, 20/20, and The Oprah Winfrey Show. His work has been cited in the national media, including The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, Forbes, Fortune, Time, Money Magazine, U.S. News and World Report, and USA Today.

In 1979 Dr. Stanley first conceptualized "The Wealthy Blue Collar" segment, a precursor to the millionaire next door typology, in a speech given on behalf of The New York Stock Exchange, later published by the American Marketing Association. In 1980 Dr. Stanley conducted a national survey of America's multimillionaires- the first ever of its kind. Since that time he conducted numerous studies of the affluent and focus group interviews with high net worth respondents for a majority of the top 50 financial institutions in America. Dr. Stanley served as a top-rated main platform speaker for The American Bankers Association, Society of Certified Public Accountants, the Securities Industry Association, The International Association of Financial Planners, The Association of Estate Planners, and the Million Dollar Round Table.

Dr. Stanley is also chairman of the Affluent Market Institute through which he has developed research based marketing and selling strategies for identifying, attracting and retaining wealthy clients.

Dr. Stanley received his doctorate in business administration from The University of Georgia. He was a university professor for 20 years, leaving to pursue a career in research and writing about America's millionaires. At Georgia State University he was named Omicron Delta Kappa's Outstanding Professor.

He died in March 2015 aged 71

Thomas J. Stanley's website

This bio was last updated on 03/03/2015. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Thomas J. Stanley at BookBrowse
The Millionaire Next Door jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Thomas J. Stanley but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Meena Cheng

    Meena Cheng

    Meena Cheng is a Chinese immigrant who traveled alone to this country at age 17. Fortune in Your Cookies; Finding Financial Wisdom in Everyday Eating is her only book. It weaves together many of her life's passions (food ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Millionaire Next Door

    Try:
    Fortune In Your Cookies
    by Meena Cheng

  • Robert Kiyosaki

    Robert Kiyosaki

    Robert Kiyosaki, author of Rich Dad Poor Dad - the international runaway bestseller that has held a top spot on the New York Times bestsellers list for over six years - is an investor, entrepreneur and educator. Born and ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Millionaire Next Door

    Try:
    Rich Dad, Poor Dad
    by Robert Kiyosaki

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join and Save 20%!

Become a member and
discover exceptional books.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: I'm the Girl
    I'm the Girl
    by Courtney Summers
    YA author Courtney Summers doesn't believe in shielding her teenage readers from the world's darkest...
  • Book Jacket: They're Going to Love You
    They're Going to Love You
    by Meg Howrey
    Teenage Carlisle lives with her mother in Ohio, but their relationship has never felt particularly ...
  • Book Jacket: The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen
    The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen
    by Isaac Blum
    That irreplaceable feeling of everyone knowing your name. The yearning to be anonymous. Parents ...
  • Book Jacket: Now Is Not the Time to Panic
    Now Is Not the Time to Panic
    by Kevin Wilson
    The edge is a shantytown filled with gold seekers. We are fugitives, and the law is skinny with ...

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Our Missing Hearts
    by Celeste Ng

    From the author of Little Fires Everywhere, a new novel about a mother’s unbreakable love in a world consumed by fear.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

W N, W Not

and be entered to win..

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Ways We Hide
by Kristina McMorris
From the bestselling author of Sold On A Monday, a sweeping tale of an illusionist recruited by British intelligence in World War II.
Who Said...

Beware the man of one book

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.