Summary and book reviews of Rich Dad, Poor Dad by Robert Kiyosaki

Rich Dad, Poor Dad

What the Rich Teach Their Kids about Money--that the Poor and the Middle Class Do Not!

by Robert Kiyosaki, Sharon L. Lechter

Rich Dad, Poor Dad by Robert Kiyosaki, Sharon L. Lechter X
Rich Dad, Poor Dad by Robert Kiyosaki, Sharon L. Lechter
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Paperback:
    Apr 2000, 223 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Explodes the myth that you need to earn a high income to be rich, challenges the belief that your house is an asset, shows parents why they can't rely on the school system to teach their kids about money and tells you what to teach your children about money.

An overnight, word-of-mouth bestselling personal finance book phenomenon for millions of readers hoping to become masters of their money and create sustaining wealth for themselves and their families.

Personal-finance author and lecturer Robert T. Kiyosaki developed his unique economic perspective from two very different influences—his two fathers. One father (Robert's real father) was a highly educated man but fiscally poor. The other father was the father of Robert's best friend—that Dad was an eighth-grade dropout who became a self-made multimillionaire.

The lifelong monetary problems experienced by his "poor dad" pounded home the counterpoint communicated by his "rich dad." Taking that message to heart, Kiyosaki was able to retire at 47. Rich Dad, Poor Dad, written with consultant and CPA Sharon L. Lechter, lays out his philosophy behind Kiyosaki's relationship with money. Rich Dad, Poor Dad opens readers eyes by:
• Exploding the myth that you need to earn a high income to be rich

• Challenging the belief that your house is an asset

• Showing parents why they can't rely on the school system to teach their kids about money

• Defining once and for all an asset versus a liability...

and what to teach your kids about money for their future financial success.

Contents

There Is A Need

Part I: Lessons

  • Chapter One: Rich Dad, Poor Dad
  • Chapter Two: Lesson One - The Rich Don't Work for Money
  • Chapter Three: Lesson Two - Why Teach Financial Literacy?
  • Chapter Four: Lesson Three - Mind Your Own Business
  • Chapter Five: Lesson Four - The History of Taxes and the Power of Corporations
  • Chapter Six: Lesson Five - The Rich Invent Money
  • Chapter Seven: Lesson Six - Work to Learn-Don't Work for Money

Part II: Beginnings

  • Chapter Eight: Overcoming Obstacles
  • Chapter Nine: Getting Started
  • Chapter Ten: Still Want More?
  • Epilogue: College Education for $7,000


Rich Dad, Poor Dad

I had two fathers, a rich one and a poor one. One was highly educated and intelligent; he had a Ph.D. and completed four years of undergraduate work in less than two years. He then went on to Stanford University, the University of Chicago, and Northwestern University to do his advanced studies, all on full financial scholarships. The other ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

USA Today
Rich Dad, Poor Dad is a starting point for anyone looking to gain control of their financial future.

Author Blurb Zig Ziglar, world-renowned author and lecturer
To get over the top financially, you must read Rich Dad, Poor Dad It's common sense and market savvy for your financial future.

Author Blurb Mark Victor Hansen, co-author, New York Times #1 bestselling Chicken Soup for the Soul series
If you want all insider wisdom on how to personally get and STAY rich, read this book! Bribe your kids (financially if you have to) to do the same.

Reader Reviews

Razaz Elghali

It was amazing
The book was really good, and I actually learnt new things that the teachers at school didn’t teach us. I am very happy that I read this book.

Faisal Shaikh

Very interesting, gives you knowledge and develops your skills!
It is really a lovely book. I loved it. Totally worth it, really, I am really fascinated. It's amazing. Read it you will know.

Chetana

Inspiring
It’s pretty motivating.

Sumeet shah

Changing people's thought to live
I love this book so much because it's changed my thinking how to think in a positive way and how to build my own desire.

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

More books by Robert Kiyosaki
More books by Sharon L Lechter

If you liked Rich Dad, Poor Dad, try these:

  • Fortune In Your Cookies jacket

    Fortune In Your Cookies

    by Meena Cheng

    Published 2002

    About this book

    Combines the sensuality found in food with the stoic subject of money, creating a uniquely enchanting and informative personal finance book that can be described as Chocolat meets Wall Street.

  • The Millionaire Next Door jacket

    The Millionaire Next Door

    by Thomas J. Stanley, William D. Danko, Ph.D.

    Published 1998

    About this book

    The incredible national bestseller that is changing people's lives -- and increasing their net worth!

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Age of Living Machines
    The Age of Living Machines
    by Susan Hockfield
    In the face of looming global challenges, such as overpopulation, resource depletion and disease, Dr...
  • Book Jacket
    The Mars Room
    by Rachel Kushner
    There is palpable tension between expectation and reality in Rachel Kushner's third novel. The ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guest Book
    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake
    Sarah Blake's critically-acclaimed third novel The Guest Book was a hit with our First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: How It Feels to Float
    How It Feels to Float
    by Helena Fox
    Even though Biz's dad has been dead for ten years, he constantly visits her and tells stories about ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Patsy
    by Nicole Dennis-Benn

    A haunting depiction of immigration and womanhood, and the silent threads of love.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Girls Burn Brighter
by Shobha Rao

An extraordinary and heart-rending tale of two girls with all the odds against them.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Conviction

Conviction by Denise Mina

The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L A Let L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.