• Top Picks

    Review

    We Had to Remove This Post

    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly translated novel from acclaimed Dutch author Hanna Bervoets, is saddled with credit card debt, ...

    Read Review

    Beyond the Book

    Content Moderators' Lawsuit Against Facebook (2018)

    We Had to Remove This Post by Hanna Bervoets centers on a group of content moderators for a large social media site, who are technically contract workers employed by a smaller, third-party company...

    Read Article
  • Top Picks

    Review

    River of the Gods

    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and transportation for numerous peoples. The river's richness allowed for the development and flourishing ...

    Read Review

    Beyond the Book

    Sidi Mubarak Bombay

    Candice Millard's River of the Gods recounts the harrowing expeditions of Richard Burton and John Speke, two British explorers sent to find the source of the Nile River. Burton's name was well known ...

    Read Article
  • Top Picks

    Review

    Horse

    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, weaving a rich tapestry of historical and current-day narratives that aptly reflect how the legacy of ...

    Read Review

    Beyond the Book

    Black Jockeys: The Foundation of American Horse Racing

    On its face, the end of the Civil War should have marked a time in which African Americans would be afforded freedom. But the end of slavery did not mean the end of Black oppression. Many white ...

    Read Article
  • Top Picks

    Review

    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance

    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance will make you ache for a loss you didn't experience as you relate through the losses you have. With remarkable accuracy, Alison Espach writes about grief through the...

    Read Review

    Beyond the Book

    Bonding Over Shared Trauma

    In Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance by Alison Espach, main characters Sally and Billy form an unbreakable bond after they both witness the death of Sally's older sister Kathy, who is Billy's ...

    Read Article
  • Top Picks

    Review

    Mercy Street

    Jennifer Haigh's Mercy Street centers around a Boston clinic that provides abortion services. The lives of four people intersect as pro-choice and anti-abortion supporters face off during a ...

    Read Review

    Beyond the Book

    Abortions in the U.S.: Who Has Them?

    Jennifer Haigh's novel, Mercy Street, centers around a clinic that provides women's health care services, including abortion. As most know, it is already difficult to gain access to legal abortion ...

    Read Article
  • Top Picks

    Review

    The Favor

    It all starts with a chance encounter at a liquor store. When Leah spots McKenna carefully shopping for beer and wine — and later, when she drives by McKenna's house — it's like looking at...

    Read Review

    Beyond the Book

    Books and Movies Inspired by Strangers on a Train

    If the premise of Nora Murphy's The Favor — two unconnected strangers conduct revenge by proxy in what should be a perfect crime — sounds familiar, that might be because of its parallels ...

    Read Article

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find Out More

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

    Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Good Husbands
    by Cate Ray

    Three wives, one letter, and an explosive secret that will change everything.
    He said, she said. Who do you believe?

    Reviews

An Introduction to BookBrowse

New In Paperback

  • Book Jacket: Never
  • Book Jacket: Beautiful World, Where Are You
  • Book Jacket: Afterparties
  • Book Jacket: Big Vape
  • Book Jacket: Secrets of Happiness
  • Book Jacket: The Other Black Girl
  • Book Jacket: The Personal Librarian
  • Book Jacket: Love and Fury
  • Book Jacket: The Book Woman's Daughter

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.