Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of The Witch's Boy by Michael Gruber

The Witch's Boy

by Michael Gruber

The Witch's Boy by Michael Gruber X
The Witch's Boy by Michael Gruber
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2005, 377 pages

    Paperback:
    May 2006, 400 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Michael Gruber has created a world that is at once deceptively familiar and stunningly original, a world of cruelty, beauty, legend, truth, and above all, wonder. Readers will delight in the author's ingenious retelling of classic fairy tales and will marvel at the stunning new tale of a boy raised by a witch, a cat, a bear, and a demon. Ages 11+.

A wondrous journey through the realms of magic

They call him Lump. Ugly, misshapen -- more goblin than human child -- abandoned as an infant and taken in by a witch, he is nursed by a bear, tutored by a djinn; his only playmates are the creatures of the forest, whose language he learns to speak.

But when Lump inevitably stumbles into the human world, his innocence is no match for the depths of people's cruelty, which turns his heart to stone, and fuels a vengeance that places him and his witch mother in deadly peril. Yet these disasters also send Lump on a journey of self-discovery, to realms deep within the earth and far beyond mortal imagination.

In this stunning fantasy debut, Michael Gruber has created a world that is at once deceptively familiar and stunningly original, a world of cruelty, beauty, legend, truth, and above all, wonder. Readers will delight in the author's ingenious retelling of classic fairy tales and will marvel at the stunning new tale of a boy raised by a witch, a cat, a bear, and a demon.

Witch

Once upon a time, in a faraway country, there was a woman who lived by herself in the middle of a great forest. She had a little cottage and kept a garden and a large gray cat. In appearance, she was neither fair nor ugly, neither young nor old, and she dressed herself modestly in the colors of stones. None of the folk who lived nearby (not the oldest of them) could tell how long she had dwelt in that place.

One spring morning, the woman set off to collect some plants she needed. As she glided silently along, she studied a list she had made, for she tended to be absentminded about small things. She passed the old oak tree, lightning killed and half hollow, where the local people were accustomed to leave things for her, and there she heard an odd little cry. She stopped and looked, and saw that in the hollow was a wicker basket. Have they left me a piglet? she wondered. But when she came closer, the basket shook and she heard the unmistakable cry of a...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

I was particularly keen to read Gruber's book with the children (aged 9 and 11) because the opinions of the mainstream reviewers are quite mixed.  For example, Booklist gives it a starred review saying 'from the hypnotic mask on the cover to its perfect fairy-tale ending, this astonishing fantasy compels readers onward,,' and the Guardian (UK) describes it as 'a brilliantly woven plot for ages 12-16. However, Publishers Weekly felt that 'the languorous pace and muddled message will likely make it off-putting to teens', and Kirkus thought the main character to be 'one of the least sympathetic characters readers will ever meet in literature' - which isn't a criticism per se, but equally will not have people rushing out to buy a copy!

We listened to The Witch's Boy as an 8 hour audio book read beautifully by Denis O'Hare.  Undoubtedly a good reader can turn literary straw into gold, so part of our opinion is probably colored by the exceptional reading. However, even without this I believe we would have been hooked by this elegantly plotted story that can be understood at many levels, and thus can be enjoyed by many ages - and yes, I can well imagine many teenagers will see a bit of themselves in Lump, and perhaps that's not such a bad thing!  I wholeheartedly recommend The Witch's Boy for young teens and also, as we discovered, it's an excellent choice for family car journeys (most audio books get passed on but we'll be keeping this one to listen to again)...continued

Full Review (354 words)

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by BookBrowse Review Team).

Media Reviews

BookBrowse - Davina
We (our children aged 9 and 11, and myself) listened to The Witch's Boy on audio and were riveted. It's an elegantly plotted story that can be understood at many levels, and thus can be enjoyed by many ages. I thought it an exceptional book and disagree with the reviewers who found the central figure of Lump to be unsympathetic - I think that many a teenager will recognize themselves in him! Not only is this a great book for teens but, as we discovered, the audio book makes an excellent choice for family car journeys (most audio books get passed on but we'll be keeping this one to listen to again).

The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
The tale of Lump's many grievous errors is told in an artistic and stately style, with an objective yet compassonate tone that creates a weight of sympathetic regret within the reader. Within the story traditional fairy tales are told as both history and local folklore.

Time Out New York Kids
Animals speak, spells are cast, dark forces seduce , and a foundling becomes a man in Michael Gruber's The Witch's boy.... Gruber writes with simple but picturesque language and the fractured fairy tales from the witch's POV are a delight...but it's the joyous and deeply felt conclusion that readers will savor most.

The Guardian (UK) - Dina Rabinovitch
A witch finds a howling and repulsively ugly baby in the woods. She adopts the child, pampers him and gives him a bear as a nanny and a genie as a servant. When the genie tricks the child into setting him free, the witch is in trouble. She and the child run away. A brilliantly woven plot intertwines with twists on well-known fairy tales. Ages 12-16.

Booklist - Ilene Cooper
Starred Review. Gr. 6-9. From the hypnotic mask on the cover to its perfect fairy-tale ending, this astonishing fantasy compels readers onward....This can be read at several levels, but those who plumb the deepest will reap the greatest reward.

Kirkus Reviews
One of the least sympathetic characters readers will ever meet in literature, Lump is going to make many a teen, preteen, or for that matter, parent uncomfortable - and there's plenty of grist for fans of Donna Jo Napoli's fairy tale psychodramas, too.

Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)
Intertwined with fairy tales...the plot is clever, the characters interesting. The strong voice and twisted variations of old tales will appeal to anyone who likes fairy-tale retellings.

Publishers Weekly
Inventive details such as Lump's cradle, which rocks itself and croons lullabies, will charm, but the languorous pace and muddled message will likely make it off-putting to teens. Ages 14-up.

Reader Reviews

Shelly Clark

Better than Harry Potter
Best book I’ve read in a long long time. What a amazing captivating imagination this author has. This book kept my attention and imagination going through the whole book until the very end and. has me wanting more. Thank You Michael Gruber!
CJ

Very entertaining
I loved this book. I am always looking for something fun and I like fairies and magic and this book filled the bill. I will read his other books!
Josh Novak

The Witch's Boy
The Witch's Boy for me was hard at the beginning because Lump seemed so negative, but after further reading I began to realize how this was implicated in the story. I also enjoyed Michael Gruber's play on folklore and how he references many of the...   Read More
Laurel Bremiller

The Witch's Boy
I thought this book to be a very fun filled fairy tale. Ranging from magical spells to animals talking, and turning them into different forms of life. Michael Gruber did an excellent job telling a story of a young boy named Lump, his life growing up,...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

Although Tropic of Night was his first book in his own name, Gruber was Robert Tanenbaum's ghost-writer for many years (they are cousins). However, his credit was limited to a thank you on the acknowledgements page so eventually the relationship dissolved - Resolve (2003) was the last Tanebaum book Gruber wrote.

In 1996 he started to write The Witch's Boy but was unable to find a publisher, so he turned to adult fiction, publishing Tropic of Night and Valley of Bones, which were both well received.  In 2005, almost 10 years after he first wrote it, The Witch'...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Witch's Boy, try these:

  • The True Tale of the Monster Billy Dean jacket

    The True Tale of the Monster Billy Dean

    by David Almond

    Published 2015

    About this book

    More by this author

    From master storyteller David Almond comes a gripping, exquisitely written novel about a hidden-away child who emerges into a broken world.

  • Enchanted jacket

    Enchanted

    by Alethea Kontis

    Published 2013

    About this book

    It isn't easy being the rather overlooked and unhappy youngest sibling to sisters named for the other six days of the week. Sunday's only comfort is writing stories, although what she writes has a terrible tendency to come true...

We have 5 read-alikes for The Witch's Boy, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Michael Gruber
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Bloodcarver
    The Last Bloodcarver
    by Vanessa Le
    The city-state of Theumas is a gleaming metropolis of advanced technology and innovation where the ...
  • Book Jacket: Say Hello to My Little Friend
    Say Hello to My Little Friend
    by Jennine Capó Crucet
    Twenty-year-old Ismael Reyes is making a living in Miami as an impersonator of the rapper/singer ...
  • Book Jacket: The Painter's Daughters
    The Painter's Daughters
    by Emily Howes
    Peggy and Molly Gainsborough are sisters and best friends, living an idyllic life in 18th-century ...
  • Book Jacket: Beverly Hills Spy
    Beverly Hills Spy
    by Ronald Drabkin
    When it comes to espionage, not only is truth stranger than fiction, sometimes it can be downright ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
A Great Country
by Shilpi Somaya Gowda
A novel exploring the ties and fractures of a close-knit Indian-American family in the aftermath of a violent encounter with the police.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

Who Said...

It was one of the worst speeches I ever heard ... when a simple apology was all that was required.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S B the B

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.