Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Witch's Boy

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Witch's Boy

by Michael Gruber

The Witch's Boy by Michael Gruber X
The Witch's Boy by Michael Gruber
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2005, 377 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2006, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

This article relates to The Witch's Boy

Print Review

Although Tropic of Night was his first book in his own name, Gruber was Robert Tanenbaum's ghost-writer for many years (they are cousins). However, his credit was limited to a thank you on the acknowledgements page so eventually the relationship dissolved - Resolve (2003) was the last Tanebaum book Gruber wrote.

In 1996 he started to write The Witch's Boy but was unable to find a publisher, so he turned to adult fiction, publishing Tropic of Night and Valley of Bones, which were both well received.  In 2005, almost 10 years after he first wrote it, The Witch's Boy was published in hardcover, and now in paperback.  Last month he also published Night of The Jaguar (April '06), which completes his supernatural thriller trilogy featuring Miami cop Jimmy Paz

He lives in Seattle in an old fishing bungalow overlooking Lake Washington and Mercer Island, with his wife who is an artist.

This "beyond the book article" relates to The Witch's Boy. It originally ran in June 2005 and has been updated for the May 2006 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.