BookBrowse Reviews The Witch's Boy by Michael Gruber

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Witch's Boy

by Michael Gruber

The Witch's Boy by Michael Gruber X
The Witch's Boy by Michael Gruber
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2005, 377 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2006, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


This astonishing fantasy compels readers onward. Ages 12+

From the book jacket: Michael Gruber has created a world that is at once deceptively familiar and stunningly original, a world of cruelty, beauty, legend, truth, and above all, wonder. Readers will delight in the author's ingenious retelling of classic fairy tales and will marvel at the stunning new tale of a boy raised by a witch, a cat, a bear, and a demon.

Comment: I was particularly keen to read Gruber's book with the children (then aged 9 and 11) because the the media reviews were so divergent. For example, Booklist gave it a starred review saying "from the hypnotic mask on the cover to its perfect fairy-tale ending, this astonishing fantasy compels readers onward" and the Guardian (UK) described it as "a brilliantly woven plot for ages 12-16". However, Publishers Weekly felt that "the languorous pace and muddled message will likely make it off-putting to teens", and Kirkus thought the main character to be "one of the least sympathetic characters readers will ever meet in literature" - which isn't a criticism per se, but equally will not have people rushing out to buy a copy!

We listened to The Witch's Boy as an 8 hour audio book read beautifully by Denis O'Hare. Undoubtedly a good reader can turn literary straw into gold, so part of our opinion is probably colored by the exceptional reading. However, even without this I believe we would have been hooked by this elegantly plotted story that can be understood at many levels, and thus can be enjoyed by many ages - in fact, I  imagine that a fair number of teenagers will see a bit of themselves in Lump, and perhaps that's not such a bad thing!

I wholeheartedly recommend The Witch's Boy for young teens and also, as we discovered, it's an excellent choice for family car journeys - most audio books get passed on but we'll be keeping this one to listen to again.

This review was originally published in June 2005, and has been updated for the May 2006 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.